email setup not workingSupport

Last Updated:

1. blubot

blubot Member

hi there, am a total newbie to this forum! So a big hello to all contributors and I applaud your dedication and contributions

i am trying to set-up my company IMAP email account hosted with Godaddy using the standard Email app that came with the SII LTE.
    checked and triple checked, entered correct username and password, yet I get the error message that installation cannot proceed further due to wrong username or password...so I am at a loss...especially since I have no problem login in using the mobile mail by godaddy.

Advertisement
  2. kct1975

kct1975 Well-Known Member

Not sure if this will help you, but at my job, our company converted from Blackberries to Smartphone this summer (Androids and iPhones)

One of the most common problems that occurred was that during the set-up of corporate e-mail on the Smartphones was that the e-mail app on the phone wanted to select the corporate e-mail domain as the e-mail server (example... company.com). Each time, the user had to go into the setting and manually change the server to the correct server.

My thought is what I describe above is the same problem you are experiencing. My suggestion is that you make sure you know the 'name' of the server the e-mail account is on (example... connect.company.com), and then manually enter the server name in the correct field during the set-up process.
  3. blubot

blubot Member

thank you KCT1975!
    I have made sure to change the incoming IMAP server settings to match Godaddys standard "imap.secureserver.net", as well as making sure that my username is my full email address and double checking my password.
    yet I never get beyond the first step: "checking incoming server settings..." Setup could not finish / incorrect user name or password...
    quite frustrating...
  4. Sword Fish

Sword Fish Well-Known Member