Email troubleshooting: Shows inbox as empty even when it isn't!Support


Last Updated:

  1. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Ok so I have finally set up my email to the HTC's message POP3. It's all set up fine, I can send emails from it (have tested this too) - the only, somewhat major problem!, is that it says my inbox has 'No Mail' regardless of how many times I refresh the page. It's showing my mail in the sent folder ok but have never been able to retrieve my mail from my inbox for some bizarre reason o_O

    Any suggestions as to how to trouble shoot this?

    Thanks!

    [[Also, FYI I had to re-register on here as I completely forgot all my log in details for my old account! My old user is something along the lines of 'Atsukopandagirl' ]]
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    What email provider do you use?
     
  3. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    go into the settings for the email account in the mail app on the phone, and change the option 'download options' from 3 days to all, this should show all your emails in the inbox.
     
  4. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my own domain, so I use info@'domain'.com

    I have done this, and it is still showing my inbox as being empty.

    I use Gmail on my phone also - but this I use through the Gmail app which came with the phone - this works fine.

    Its trying to get my other email to work through the HTC's 'Mail' app thats the tricky one.
     
  5. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    have you tried entering your googlemail details into the mail app and seeing if you get the same problem then, just as a reference?
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Have.you double checked the incoming port is correct?

    I use google partner for my domain so it all comes into my gmail app anyway.
     
  7. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    also, when you set up the mail accounts, are you sure the ports mentioned are correct?
     
  8. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    lol, great minds think alike
     
  9. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shall do this now :) And let you know...

    Yes, I got the incoming and outgoing server details off my domain email account. And have double checked they are correct.

    Thanks for your help guys ^_^
     
  10. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gmail works fine through the htc mail app - just tried it now - loads up the contents of my inbox and new messages sent.

    Its just my domain email that's refusing to co-operate !
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Does it work ok in outlook with the.same settings?
     
  12. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    what email service is it, eg hotmail, yahoo mail, etc?
     
  13. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already stated - its on my own domain. info@'my domain name'.com
     
  14. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried it with Thunderbird - worked fine.
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Its a head scratcher. Other than deleting it and.starting again whichyou've probably tried, I cant.think if anything. Email htc?
     
  16. HelenaPanda

    HelenaPanda Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess thats all I can do ...
     
  17. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Are you using auto or manual set up? Use manual and double check. sounds like your incomming settings are wrong.
     
  18. GladEye

    GladEye New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had exactly the same problem (empty inbox) while trying to set up email and am using emails related to my own domains.

    Was there a solution found?

    I have read elsewhere that this might be to do with mail being deleted from servers when they are downloaded to applications like Outlook, etc but have yet to work out a solution...
     
  19. fletchem

    fletchem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    If you are running Outlook or Thunderbird, they will normally delete the mails off the server when they check for e-mails. If you want to see your inbox on your phone AND in a computer mail programme you should set the phone to do IMAP rather than POP3.

    I use my own domain for work... I use my phone on IMAP when I am out of the office and then when I turn the PC (set up to POP3) on and ping my inbox, Outlook takes all the e-mails off the server (and hence removes their visibility from the phone).

    If you untick the "remove mails from server" option in Outlook/Thunderbird (while staying on POP3) then your mails will duplicate - one copy on phone and one on computer.

    You will need to see if your ISP/Mail provider gives an IMAP option...
     
  20. GladEye

    GladEye New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks or your quick reply.

    I might try IMAP but have just downloaded the K9 app which was easy to set up and works fine (unlike the mail included).

    Haven't fully explored it yet but it does all the necessary. I noted that it was well recommended so thought others might find this tip useful as an alt to the IMPA route
     
  21. GladEye

    GladEye New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many thanks or your quick reply.

    I might try IMAP but have just downloaded the K9 app which was easy to set up and works fine (unlike the included mail app!).

    Haven't fully explored it yet but it does all the necessary. I noted that it was well recommended so thought others might find this tip useful as an alt to the IMPA route
     
  22. mtbikrbabe

    mtbikrbabe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. I have same problem with yahoo. Double checked all setup. When i have tried deleting the old ones which by the way will no longer open so I hit delete and I get an error msg saying there is an error with process com android mail and gives you button to force close. Did u ever. Get this figured out
     

Share This Page

Loading...