1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Email vs Gmail


Last Updated:

  1. yukongt300ex

    yukongt300ex Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the difference in the "Email" and the "Gmail" app on the phone. Wich one should i set up my email with. I use gmail for both of my email accounts. Right now both of my account are showing up under the gmail app, but when i click on email only one shows up. Am i missing something here? How is the best way to set up my email?

    Also, i do not think my phone is vibrating if i have my email sent straight to a label in my gmail account. Is it supposed to be this way? is there anyway to change it so it will still alert me?
     

    Advertisement
  2. QrafTee

    QrafTee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    69
    Gmail is just for Gmail; Email is for everything else.
     
  3. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    If you have both of your email accounts going into Gmail.. then you should never really need to use the other Email application. I have Gmail check two of my other POP3 accounts (by setting those accounts up inside Gmail from my PC). Then I work with all my email using the Gmail applicaiton. I never have to touch the other one (actually.. in the year I owned my G1 I never even started that app up).
     
  4. yukongt300ex

    yukongt300ex Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should i delete my gmail account that got put in the email program? The gmail program will instantly notify me right? What about the folders in my gmail? thanks for the help by the way
     
  5. shadowdude777

    shadowdude777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    122
    Yes, the GMail app does push if that's what you meant.
     
  6. Xomox

    Xomox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    One thing that I haven't figured out is how to make your Gmail account your primary account for sending mail: I have one Gmail account, setup via the Gmail app, one IMAP mailbox and one Exchange account, both set up via the Email app, and only the latter two can be set as the "Default Account" for outgoing mail.
     
  7. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    I would remove it from the other email app if I were you because you don't really need it. It could potentially just use more data than you need and use up valuable battery life.
     
  8. DavidC

    DavidC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    for some reason my email application stopped notifying me in the status bar when my yahoo account got new mail.
    it was working fine before.

    Also

    do I need gmail and email running if i want updates on my inboxes?
     
  9. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    This Gmail app works better than my Blackberry EVER did. It's instant and incredible.
     
  10. Ms_Kady

    Ms_Kady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    11
    How do you disable the Email app from receiving mail and notifications? Right now I get duplicate notifications because it goes to both the Gmail and Email app. :confused:
     
  11. stevenfstein

    stevenfstein Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    One thing I was not able to figure out - I had my Optonline account pulled into gmail and, with the exception of some embeded images, worked fine. What I was NOT able to do was delete an email and have it go back to Optonline and delete it there. I did see a setting to erase from the server once gmail pulled it in but there are some that I want to keep so they pull to my computer when I use that. Any help?

    Regards..... Steve
     

Share This Page

Loading...