Employee discount... student discount?General

Last Updated:

1. Chango99

Chango99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I attend UC Berkeley as a student and was checking to see if I could get a vzw discount. I went to the employee discount page and added my address, turns out I do.

But, it's supposed to be an employee discount... so I'm wondering if it works for students? I did get a confirmation email and looks like I can kind of set it up online, but I was having issues with adding a line since it asked me to get a phone for the other line (it's going to be a family plan).

So I called in to order my incredible and blah blah.

Basically, the account is under my cousin's dad's name. They said for us to have the 15% employee discount (I avoided saying i'm a student the whole time) they would have to do assumption of liability and change it to be under my name. Then stuff about credit checks and all that... so I'm not sure how this will work. I don't want it to get billed to me... My credit history is almost nonexistent since I just received my card a couple of months ago.

What should I do?

Advertisement
  2. josh81

josh81 Well-Known Member

I say let them do it...It is worth a try to get a cheap Dinc.

3. sk8skanj

sk8skanj Well-Known Member

i'd say just say your email is his and they'll never know the difference.

4. TPR300C

TPR300C Well-Known Member

I worked for verizon so I know how this works. In order to get the 15% off the account will have to be under your name. They will do a credit check to determine if you need to provide a deposit or if you can carry all the lines. Its the only way. The 15% is not applied to phones. I would get a 50% discount on my bill but never on the phone. secondary lines which are $9.99 do not get the discount since the price is low for them. features also dont get the discount. The only feature that does is the $29.99 data plan. Hopefully this helps you out.