End the Boot Loop


Last Updated:

  1. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    No matter what I do I cannot get around the boot loop.

    First I was trying to flash the CM Remix ROM, which ended in a boot loop.

    I then tried just JRummy's ROM, ended it boot loop.

    I wiped data, cache and factory restored.

    Tried flashing CM Remix again, boot loop.

    Wiped again.

    Tried flashing a 1ghz kernel, boot loop.

    Where do I go to wipe system, boot, etc.? I'm starting to lose hope here.
     

    Advertisement
  2. xr4ti

    xr4ti Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
  3. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Interesting. I can boot into recovery though.
     
  4. PDR

    PDR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Might try removing your sd card and using a card reader to place the stock image with SU , like in the how to root thread, on it, then just install the update.zip file. We had to do that with my friends phone when he got stuck in the loop.
     
  5. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    This is what I would do. Use ROM Manager or other means and download a stock ROM (rooted...but you want simple for this). Download the rooted, stock ROM, put it on your SD Card but don't install it yet.

    - Boot into recovery (I assume you are using Clockwork if not...you have to use adb with SPRecovery...Clockwork is easier).

    Perform each of the following at least 2 times.
    - Format Data (Factory Default)
    - Format Cache

    Then go into the "Partitions" menu and do each of these 2 times.
    - Format Boot
    - Format System
    - Format Data
    - Format Cache

    Get back to the main screen and choose to install zip from sdcard. Find the rooted stock rom and install as you normally would. When finished installing, reboot and you should boot up. If not, I would start over (and try at least one more time before you give up :D)

    If successful, you will have a rooted stock ROM loaded up. You don't need to keep this ROM for any length of time...we just wanted to get you out of the boot loop by wiping EVERYTHING and then installing something that we know would play nice with your phone.

    Now, put the ROM that you actually want to install on your sdcard and start over with wiping data/cache, formatting each of the partitions as before...then load your ROM of choice...reboot enjoy! :D
     
  6. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ah, so that's where it is.

    Thank you.

    I'm trying it now.
     
  7. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    NP...please report back with your findings. I have not had the constant boot loops but I had FC's all the time with acore FC'ing and other issues...loaded different ROMs, etc...everything RAN slow and this is basically what I did. Wipe/Format everything and load a stock ROM.... Wipe/Format again and flash a nice custom ROM...haven't had issues since.

    Having said that, I format all my partitions before flashing a new ROM. I tried to shortcut that with the new Bugless Beast 2.2 ROM...I finally had enough "little issues" that I did it the "right" way and my benchmarks and overall phone speed/stability has greatly improved.
     
  8. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    WTH...
    So I wiped everything like said above. I tried to install my 2.1 w/ root but it failed. So now I am trying to reboot phone and its stuck in boot loop. I didnt do anything but wipe.

    ETA:
    Install says:
    file_getprop: failed to stat "/system/build.prop": No such file or directory
    E:Error in /sdcard/2.1 Update with Root.zip
    (status 7)
    Installation aborted.
     
  9. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Where did you get that 2.1 ROM...it sounds like it is only compatible with SPRecovery. I'll look for a link to a 2.1 ROM that is Clockwork compatible (I realize you can't download it from ROM Manager).
     
  10. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Mr. Monkey likes this.
  11. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Its one I downloaded off ROM Manager. Let me try that one. Thanks!
     
  12. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    20
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Dolphin has issues with FroYo.

    Oops - just realized - you're not on FroYo yet.

    Try the default browser. Or else download it on your computer, then transfer it to your phone.
     
  14. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    20
    I am in FroYo. At least I think I am...Tried regular browser and get "download unsuccessful"
    Thanks tho.


     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I thought you were tying to get to FroYo....
     
  16. Mr. Monkey

    Mr. Monkey Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well! It worked that time I think. So, a few more wipes and I can flash whatever ROM I feel like??

    Thanks UBR!

    ETA: So was I just trying to flash a rom that wasnt CW compatible?
     
    UBRocked likes this.
  17. UBRocked

    UBRocked VZW Nexus Please!!! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    4,335
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sorry for the delayed response...busy night outside of the forum...:)

    Glad to see that it worked! Here are a couple of thoughts as to what possibly happened (just a guess but here goes)...

    I think that you had a corrupted ROM. Not necessarily issues with the ROM itself...could have been an app, random reboot, or something else that caused initial stability problems.

    I don't know how well the "wipe data/factory reset" and formatting partitions ACTUALLY works. So what I'm thinking is that sometimes you cannot remove the problem by wiping/formatting. This is the reason I had you install the stock ROM. It served as a nice stable base ROM that would re-write over parts of your phone's internal flash memory that wiping and formatting could not do effectively enough.

    And as far as the stock ROM that you couldn't install...based on the symptoms you described...it sounded like it was made to be an update.zip file that SPRecovery would have installed. The one I posted was the first one I could find with a quick google search that was listed as being Clockwork compatible. Clockwork and SPRecovery provide the same basic functionality but require different formats (think apple vs. pc...not quite to that level of difference, but you get the point).

    Again, glad to see you're up and running!...thanks for posting back :D
     
  18. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    My battery is dead. Have to charge it and then do this to kill the boot loop. Anyone have a bone stock froyo Rom?
     
  19. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Let me go into a little detail. First the power button on my phone quit working. I had to wake uup the screen by sliding open the keyboard. Then today the power button started working but the phone kept trying to re-boot.

    I have the Factory reset software on my computer but cant remember how to get it back to 2.0 and then re-root.
     
  20. DrDiff

    DrDiff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can not get it to install stock rom
     

Share This Page

Loading...