Env Touch + new data plan policy (verizon)


Last Updated:

  1. steelcurtain11

    steelcurtain11 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few months ago I borrowed an Env Touch from someone to activate on my account (my current phone is messed up), but it said I needed a data plan after I activated it, so I just canceled it and remained using my current broken one. I read recently that Verizon changed their policy for data plans and phones. If I were to attempt to borrow this phone again and switch/activate it online with my current phone will I still have to get that dumb data plan?

    I need a phone to use until my contracts up and can get my android, but until then I don't want the internet on a phone like that. My current plan is just a family calling/unlimited texting plan.

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145
    yes, you should be able to do that. If they give you a hard time just keep fighting them on it, they'll cave.
     
  3. steelcurtain11

    steelcurtain11 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you very much, I'll try to do it online tonight.
     
  4. Axe_1

    Axe_1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    3
    All i have to say is "Good Luck". I have tried getting that crappy 10 dollar data package off my wifes Env Touch. Any phone bought after Oct. 28 has the option not to have it. Some reason the data requirement is tied to the phone.
     
  5. sho95

    sho95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well actual even the ones after oct 28 need to have it but now they have "more" options. You need to just get the pay-per-use basis.
     
  6. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145

    no, as of the 28th, there is no more "multimedia phone" category. The 9.99 package is no longer required on any device. Only smartphones require data now, and you have the option of choosing the $15 package instead of the unlimited.

    As for getting the 9.99 package removed from a device purchased before oct. 28th, thats where the line turns a little gray. The words of our corporate rep yesterday was:
    "Technically, they're supposed to keep it, but it's not something that's set in stone. You won't be able to call tech and remove it for them, but I'm sure if they call in and complain enough, it can be dropped."
     
  7. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    That leaves me wondering. I have an EnV Touch that I got to replace a phone I lost. It was given to my by Assurion at a time when feature phones did not require data. I've since upgraded to the Droid.

    If I were to put that phone on another line would they try to make me get the data plan for it?
     
  8. steelcurtain11

    steelcurtain11 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it online but it still made me required a data plan.. hmm, maybe I could try going to a store and doing it or something. I just can't use this broken env2 anymore, outer screen isnt cracked but has black blobs, none of the outter buttons work, and now the inner buttons are starting to fail = /
     
  9. sho95

    sho95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    8
    Your correct on the 9.99 but you still need to choose a data pack which in this case is the one I stated " pay per use". This is the same way verizon did back like 3 yrs ago on the smart phones. One way you can try to remove the data is to disconnect the current phone and activate the line with a regular phone then reactivate the "multi media phone" back. Data packs are not under contract nor is the phone its the line that's under contract.
     
  10. tommy_ed

    tommy_ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    145
    not on what were multimedia phones (Env-touch, Samsung Reality, Env-3, Chocolate Touch, etc.)

    As of oct. 28th, the ONLY phones that require ANY kind of data packages are smart phones. I work at verizon, and I've already sold a few of them and called in to remove the data package. It won't be in our point-of-sale systems until we get an update this month, so we have to call tech to remove them right now. This might be the reason it's giving you trouble ordering one online without the package.
    Disconnecting and reconnecting the phone won't do anything, because the computer automatically adds the data feature when you put a smartphone on the account, there's no way around it.
    The data packs were never under contract.
     

Share This Page

Loading...