Epic 4g keeps disconnecting 4g serviceSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Cuttle42

    Cuttle42 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    My wife just got the Samsung Epic 4g. According the map for 4g coverage I live in a solid blue area (strong coverage). The 4g connection is constantly dropping in my house. Does anyone know what this issue is or of a fix? Thank you in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. wickedbear

    wickedbear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever get this resolved? The tech at the sprint store could not find a fix for this issue, and said no one had reported a similar issue, despite the evo having multiple issues like it. Of course the sprint stores have 4g repeaters, so the signal was outstanding while I was there, and never dropped once making me look like an idiot.

    The tech said I could take it back if it still didn't work properly after a hardware reset. I'm just wondering if i'm the only one out there with this problem.
     
  3. Cuttle42

    Cuttle42 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not gotten this resolved. I have not had a chance to call Sprint tech myself though. I was hoping to get help on here. The phone is outstanding overall and don't see any reason to return it, but I think Sprint needs to drop the $10 service charge for such unreliable service. I will let you know if and when I get a fix. Do you think 2.2 will help for any reason?
     
  4. wickedbear

    wickedbear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, the tech made it seem like the signal where I live is pretty good, and it shouldn't be doing it. Mine is still doing it, so the odds are the phone is beign exchanged.
     
  5. Cuttle42

    Cuttle42 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you going to try another EPIC? You said the EVO is having the same issue right? Let me know what you end up doing of if you find a fix and I will do the same. Thanks!
     
  6. unknown zone

    unknown zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well 4G is a hit and miss the way I look at it, just because you see on the map coverage and it looks that you should have coverage good luck.

    Example: When I go to Corpus Christi heck the map has Corpus and surrounding area all in Blue..etc I was so excited but, my friends house is in the coverage area and I cant get a 4g signal even his girlfriend who has an EVO cannot get it either, but the map says we are in coverage.
     
  7. wickedbear

    wickedbear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I will be replacing my epic today for another one, I love the phone. About the Evo's he said some of the originals were doing that, he just hadn't heard of any epics doing it.

    @Unknown zown: it's not that I cannot get a 4g signal, its that I cannot hold it. I stood outside my house yesterday when I got home, turned on 4g, aquired a signal, and dropped it within 1 minute without moving.
     
  8. Android XTC

    Android XTC Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    42

    Trust me I live in Chicago, just because Sprint has you in a 4G zone on the map doesn't guarantee you a signal. My phone does the scanning then dropping all the time. The reason for this is its detecting a 4G signal but the signal is so unstable that it drops it and re scans and so on. Finally it just stops scanning because the signal is just to weak or unstable and goes back to 3G. Replacing the phone will not fix this issue this is an issue with the 4G carrier not the hardware. What Sprint doesn't tell you in there ads is that you have to almost live next to a 4G tower to be able to use the service. I also have a Sprint 4G modem card with an EXTRNAL window mount antenna and yes I live in a 4G hot zone and I get no signal from the modem either.
     
  9. wickedbear

    wickedbear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's fine and all, but nowhere in the city of houston do i get a consistent stable reading. I find -that- hard to believe. The only time its ever worked as intended was right next to sprints repeater.
     
  10. unknown zone

    unknown zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    3
    Understandable but like Android said, most likely you are at the very edge of the closes 4G tower even if the Sprint 4G coverage map says you should have a great 4g coverage signal, but if the second Epic does the same now you know how Sprint 4G coverage works (hit and miss) but yet you pay $10.. 8( ..please update us with your findings.

    Next yr upgrade I will be going back to 3G, for me 4G is not worth for what I do, Corpus is the nearest 4G city I do not live there and hopefully the 3G phones of next yr will outperform hardware wise the Evo/Epic anyway heavens knows when 4G it will come down to S. Texas of course the 4G map will look awesome but the "real" 4G coverage will stink.
     
  11. automag

    automag New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am in an area where i do not get 3g or 4g on my epic nor do i get enough cell signal to work had to get an air wave unit from sprint in order to have coverage in my house. had to go outside across the street or 1/4 mile or so to the south to get cell servise the coverage map says i have good coverage
     
  12. wickedbear

    wickedbear Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately this did not fix the issue, so please do not go into the sprint stores to get a replacement. It baffles me how I can be full bars on 4g, and drop a signal after 6 minutes of use by not moving. I feel bad for wasting two sprint tech's time and explaining the issue when apparently there was no issue but sprints coverage. My old phone was nicer too D: this slider wobles, albiet, VERY slightly.

    Oh well, I still love the phone, woudln't trade it for any other out.
     

Share This Page

Loading...