Epic Bug ListSupport


Last Updated:

  1. simkin101

    simkin101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    **Some revisions made to my original list based on responses and testing** - 9/12/2010

    Thought I'd start a thread to list bugs that I've found on my Epic. This is NOT a rant thread. I LOVE my epic, despite the bugs. So far, the bugs that I've found have all been minor, and I don't really mind them. But perhaps if we at least list out ones as we find them, we can get this information over to Sprint and/or Samsung for a potential fix in a future update.

    When you submit bugs that you've found, please be very descriptive and also include any steps you recommend to reproduce the bug.

    Here's my list so far:

    1. When a bluetooth headset is active and you try to use the "Speech-to-text" microphone while typing a message, it does not recognize your voice. If you turn the bluetooth off, it works fine. I suspect that with the bluetooth on, it is looking for sound coming from the bluetooth headset, but with no way to active the headset unless you are in PHONE mode, this isn't workable.

    2. Cannot add a Facebook ACCOUNT under "Accounts & Sync" despite the fact that the option exists on the menu. If this feature simply isn't supported, perhaps the option should be removed. Or fixed (even better). I have even tried updating to the latest Facebook app. I have also done a software reset on my phone, and it still does not work.
    I finally got my Facebook app to work. I'm not 100% certain all the steps that I took to fix it, but this is what I seem to recall:
    A) Downloaded the FaceBook update from the Market
    B) UNINSTALLed the Facebook update
    C) Went back to my Accounts screen and added a new account. Now I don't remember what this screen looked like before, but now I had TWO options for adding Facebook. One was in the top section called "Integrated contact accounts" and the other was in "More accounts". I used the top one, and it worked beautifully. Now all of my Facebook contacts are in my list, and they auto-linked to my Exchange contacts so I get pictures now.
    D) I reinstalled the Facebook update and it still works fine.

    3. My phone rebooted itself while I was in the middle of a phone call and a new call was coming through (call-waiting). This has only happened one time, and I have tested it several times since.
    I have NOT had this problem again, and I use my phone a LOT.

    4. The battery icon on the top bar is not very accurate. It will look like it has 75% remaining when it really has somewhere around 40%. A simple handling is a free app download to display the battery percentage in the bar instead of the icon, but this should work better with the stock app.
    Per the description posted below, this is not a bug but rather just the way the battery icon displays in the taskbar. I thought it was supposed to be a realtime gague, ticking off tiny increments every percent or two. But it updates in stages instead, which I don't like. But I'm happy to know it's not really a bug.

    5. When using the AccuWeather Clock widget, the TIME on the analog clock is an hour off. I am in the Eastern Time Zone, for testing purposes. When you go into the app, it shows the correct time in digital format. But no matter what I've tried, the analog clock is an hour off.
    This is NOT a bug. Found the setting for DST as described below, and it works great.

    That's all I've found for now!
     

    Advertisement
  2. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    3] Someone has reported that. Mine rebooted when I trying to refresh my weather widget. It also rebooted for no reason when I was just looking at the phone and trying to get to the next page. It has not happen the last 3 days.

    4] I can confirm this bug. It's not accurate at all. Do not trust the battery, use a battery widget.

    Those two I've read about or had happen to me. There is a battery bug that's draining the battery, switch to airplane mode and back to fix.

    The only other 2 other bug that I've found and so far I think I'm the only one affected by it. The lag. I'm talking about lagging for more then 5 seconds where the phone becomes unresponsive.

    The last one is, programs running without me opening it. Like qik, fring, Sprint hotspot, Sprint tv, and music player. They don't open up, I find them when checking the running apps.
     
  3. Red_Cheeks

    Red_Cheeks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was able to sign it to my facebook account with out any issues... Something has to be wrong with your phone cause i have not had any of the problems you have.
     
  4. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91

    Use a battery widget and compare it to the epic's battery and see how accurate it is.
     
  5. th3j3ster

    th3j3ster Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ditto on the battery, but I don't think it's a "Bug" as such...I think this is just how they coded it. Here's what I mean:

    from 100 to 76% the battery shows "Full"
    from 75 to 51% the battery shows one quarter missing
    from 50% to 26% the battery shows two quarters missing
    from 25 to about 10%(?) the battery shows three quarters missing
    from 10%? to 1% the battery is empty and flashing.

    I noticed this while trying to keep a handle on my battery. I use a widget to see the actual battery percentage and then make not of the notification bar icon.

    This is a really big problem because, if your battery is at 26% and you glance down, you may be apt to think that you still have half battery left; in reality you only have a quarter.

    Also, what I noticed, is that the battery level reporting in general is inaccurate, as yesterday I rebooted my phone, and the phone went from telling me I had 25% to 12% over a single reboot. I knew this was incorrect as I left the screen on and the phone unplugged and the 12% didn't start draining down to 11% for way longer than it should with the screen on.
     
  6. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    The lack of individual signatures across email accounts. I need my work one to have my work info and my personal ones just my first name and last initial. PITA.
     
  7. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    33
    The dock accessory's headphone hack does not work. Sound still comes out of the phone when using it.
     
  8. Shane112358

    Shane112358 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ditto on the battery.

    Also a few problems with Exchange sync. For example I received a meeting cancellation notice this morning. Even though once I got the notice, the event in my calendar changed to "Canceled: XYZ Meeting", clicking on the notification's "remove from calendar" button resulted in an error about not being able to find the event.
     
  9. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    while using camera I have had phone freeze up a few times to where no inputs but power button would work and a reset had to occur. this was in pic review and camera screen. thankfully the phone boots in seconds so it didn't really irk me
     
  10. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    239
    I think that's a 2.2 thing. It's been discussed in the dock threads.
     
  11. robl45

    robl45 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have the number 1 issue but I don't believe thats an issue really, its not going to take the mic. but the real issue is the voice text works like crap anyway, compared to my friends droid 2, the voice text is next to worthless, and I've tested on mine and my wifes epic.

    The battery isn't super accurate either.

    my wife can sign into facebook so i believe that works.

    the biggest issue with this phone and why it may go back is that uploads are never over 150Kbps. Sprint has a ticket open now and they have about 22 days to solve it or the phone goes back. IMHO this is a bigger issue than anything else. Even the subpar GPS.

     
  12. CzechPleez

    CzechPleez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hi. I'm a Sprint employee and Epic owner/user.

    Issues #1, 2 & 3 - I've not experienced myself. No problems on my Epic but thanks for posting.

    Issue 4 - @th3j3ster gave a great explanation. Yes we think Samsung should correct the batt status in a future release. We will pass the concern to Samsung developers.

    Issue 5 - You have to manually set the DST in the AccuWeather widget. Once you set your city, click on the city (small bar below the weather) and then click Menu > Set DST > click to the right (it's black, no check box) until you see a small "sun" appear. Click Done and back out. DST is now set and you will notice a small "sun" next to the city in the widget.

    Thanks for reporting your issues and being Sprint customers! We're listening!
     
    shp13 likes this.
  13. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    1. I have had the slide to unlock freeze a couple of times to where I've had to turn the screen back off and try again.

    2. I have had the slide to answer phone call keep me from answering a phone call because it just froze. It would not move. (same as #1)

    3. I have had the drop down from the notification bar free and get stuck, taking up the entire screen. It was so bad once that I rebooted the phone.

    4. I have had to turn off New E-Mail notifications 3 times now because it keeps going back to default.

    The only other issue I've had is within the browser, so I assume that's an Android bug rather than an Epic bug..??
     
  14. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    physical keyboard does not respond to every input. swapped out epic same issue
     
  15. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91

    Did your phone freeze? I was charging mine and this morning it froze. I had to do a battery pull. I called Best Buy and told them I needed to exchange my Epic and for them to hold a Epic for me.

    The mobile guy told me, alot of customers have been complaining about the freezing issue. He said Sprint is aware of the issue and believes it's a software issue.

    I'm gonna call Sprint later and see if this is true or not. Besides the reboot issue, this is the first time my phone has froze since I got a it a week ago.
     
  16. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yes, I would call it a freeze. But only the one time was it so bad that I had to reboot the phone. The other times, I just turned the screen off and back on until it worked. The time I missed the call, I was able to just pull up the phone function and call him right back. It is only the slide to unlock / slide to answer phone call. (plus the extremely laggy drop down that did freeze on me once)
     
  17. sleipner

    sleipner Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    The phone sometimes will not stay connected even with service available, and continuously searches for a 3G signal. Entering/exiting airplane mode resets the radio and fixes it for people who have a large amount of time without service showing in their battery usage. I have poor battery life even with o% time without service, unless I disable 3G/mobile data with Quick Settings or Juice Defender.
     
  18. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    113
    Oh damn. Another one just reared its ugly head. I almost forgot about it, as it only happened once before.

    Tapping Messaging widget takes me to Phone function. This is another one that I've had to reboot to get to work again.

    I plan to wait until the 30s are almost up and exchange it for another. Hoping that'll get me a later build date and maybe fix my problems.
     
  19. iBleedBlackNgold

    iBleedBlackNgold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    11
    anyone else experiencing the browser issue when doing a google image search it only shows about 8-12 pages & the rest are blank ?? its happened every damn time ive tried it & it is annoying
     
  20. mosesmom

    mosesmom New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had it for a few days, and I am not happy. My mail doesn't show up for hours, let alone the five minutes I set it for. No matter which account mail comes in on, replies go out on the primary. I WILL NOT MESS AROUND with crap like this to reply to work e-mails. Using the bluetooth in my car, when I turned off the car, the call dropped. My BB and my iphone never did that. I have stupid and useless apps built in that I cannot delete. The battery is not so good, and I am being kind. Sprint offered no help on the phone. Tomorrow is a trip to the store-- let's hope they can help or bye bye epic!
     
  21. toyman317

    toyman317 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    6
    Many users including myself have had an issue with the wifi not working and getting an error message saying "unable to scan networks". This was discussed over on the Sprint forum and some have found they had to return their device, hard reset, or root and delete some code. For me, mine started working after I toggled the Airplane Mode on and off.
     
  22. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    I don't know if this is a bug or som'n that I'm missing, but I know @ 1st, I could talk on the phone via Speaker Phone or Headset & the screen would go off as expected; not, it will not go off @ all for either 1 so talkin on 1 of those is becoming annoying... Bug or user error?
     
  23. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    btw....I do have a bug to report. after being on a call, if you try to enter digits.....there is about a five second delay. other than that...awesome!
     
  24. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,614
    Likes Received:
    70,271
    Just a reminder - there's no need to attack other posters with issues, and it's called the Zero Tolerance Policy, link in my sig.

    Bug posts often bring that out - this is the warning.

    Thanks in advance for working together on this.
     
  25. flipflopsindecember

    flipflopsindecember New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    only real problem I have had is that the same song just randomly started playing 3 different times.

    I didn't have it set as a ring tone and didn't even have the phone in my hands each time it did this.
    Checked to see what apps were running and there were none that would cause music or an alarm to play so I couldn't turn it off.

    It's been a few days and hasn't done it since
    Just kind of odd to be driving and all of a sudden the phone starts blaring music
     

Share This Page

Loading...