ErgonomicsSupport

Last Updated:

1. Xenon

Xenon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

This is not a rant. I'm a programmer so I tend to notice details and here are
    some issues I've noticed with the design of Galaxy's hardware, presented
    without malice.

1. The [Back] button is wrongly positioned on the right side of the dialpad.
    It's the most used button. It should be the easiest one to reach with the
    thumb, which at the very least means it should be on the left side. Ideally all
    buttons should be arranged so that the phone is easy to use when lying on
    the palm which is not the case now. In the extreme this would mean different
    phones for left-handed people, but it's not necessary. Even having navigation
    buttons on top of the touchscreen instead of below would improve
    ergonomics.

2. Volume rocker makes it difficult to balance the phone on its left side. This
    is a problem when you take pictures outside and want to stabilize the camera
    by pressing it against a road sign, a fence, car roof or something similar.

3. If you turn the phone face down and push the back with your finger you
    will discover a spot just southwest of the camera lens where the cover
    doesn't fit well and produces a creaking sound.

4. The lock key is without exception the worst thing about the phone! I had
    to put an exclamation mark there. Due to the fact that the phone is waking
    up from different states, it wakes up with different speed. This is extremely
    disorienting for the user, who does not know whether the press registered or
    not. This button absolutely has to be a switch with two discrete states: ON
    and OFF. Upon putting it in the ON position the user could then wait for the
    wake-up knowing it will eventually happen.

Add your own, if you wish, or comment mine.

Advertisement
  2. informale

informale Well-Known Member