Eris and GPSGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. hendrickson.dj

    hendrickson.dj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe it's just me, but....
    Has anyone else found that the GPS is useless on the Eris?
    And that that makes maps and any other app that relies on the phone knowing your location worthless?
    Those turn-by-turn directions don't help much if your phone thinks your a half mile away from your actual location.
    And those apps that help you find your car? Or your distances on a golf course?

    And other than buying a new phone, has anyone found a solution?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Unless I am deep inside of a building.. it pin points me within a couple feet of my location.. GPS works great..
     
  3. LED

    LED Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    65
    Mine works fine. You do have GPS enabled right? If you are only using the network location, then you'll be off by easily a half mile as it only uses cell towers to figure out your location.
     
  4. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    172
    Wow, mine has been fairly/very accurate in the couple of months I have been using it. Make sure your GPS is enabled. Tower triangulation is not nearly as accurate.
     
  5. WineJones

    WineJones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    3
    I disagree - I find mine quite reliable. When tracking a walk (using Cardio Trainer) it even could "see" that I looped around our driveway - about a 40' diameter circle. I've used it to get "unlost" on several occasions in unfamiliar territory. My husband's Moto Droid was having gps issues last weekend, but it is normally very reliable as well. Maybe your phone was not finding satellites, or maybe the gps isn't working well on your phone; I don't think it's an issue with all Erises. Please post as you learn more!
     
  6. homer169

    homer169 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    The only place I've gone with mine and its been off more than 3 meters is where I work. There isn't a gps around that can pin point me when I'm there. The navigation on 2.1 has worked flawlessly for me so far.
     
  7. ErisDroid?

    ErisDroid? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    I guess I'm like everyone else and haven't had any issues. I use lookout and just for the fun of it I will look up my phone and it usually finds it with in 3 yards of where it really is. Make sure your location is on as well as having you GPS enabled.
     
  8. hendrickson.dj

    hendrickson.dj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. Thanks, all, for the quick replies.
    Although I'm not sure that I'm happy to learn that it IS just me! ;-)
    I do have GPS and my location both on, I've tried indoors and outdoors and in different locations miles apart -- and the best it can do is within a half mile. I spent about an hour on the phone with Verizon on this and their response was that Google Maps must be inaccurate in my region (southeastern Virginia) and that I should report that to Google.
    I guess it's time to take it back to the Verizon store.
     
  9. bekind

    bekind Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try going into maps and into Latitude (layer). You should see your location on the map with a blue shaded circle around you representing your locations accuracy. With GPS on and if you are outside you should see the circle as a tiny dot, otherwise if the shaded circle is large you are only defining your location via cell towers.

    Also keep in mind your location will not be determined instantly with GPS. Depending on your view of the sky it may take a monute or 2 to find your exact location.
     
  10. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    No GPS that I'm aware of works well indoors, they have to be able to 'see' the sky to get a fix on the satellites. So make sure you've got a good clear view where you are. Thick trees overhead and skyscraper type buildings can sometimes even cause a problem.
     
  11. ScarcelyAware

    ScarcelyAware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you on a leak? Though my GPS location is still fairly accurate, it takes a helluvalot longer to get a fix on the satellites. Hopefully this is fixed in the OTA -_-
     
  12. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I have run into problems with mine on occasion. If I restart the phone, it typically works just fine.
     
  13. pea

    pea Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    i go to menu>setting>location and then i uncheck everything besides the last one which is "gps." that makes it pretty accurate. you should try it and see if it helps.
     
  14. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just be happy "selective availability" was turned off in 2000.
     
  15. bweave

    bweave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anyone using Cardio Trainer with the GPS find it to be accurate? I have had Cardio Trainer record a run 1/2 mile longer than it actually was.

    Does anyone have similar experiences?
     
  16. Bishop

    Bishop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    15
    The one time I really tried using mine last week, it got me lost. It made me take a right off a main street when I was supposed to take a left!!!! I was PISSED! I ended up calling my wife to ask where I was supposed to go and she informed me I had put in the wrong freakin address!! I blame the GPS still.
     
  17. sdavis3911

    sdavis3911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had an occasional problem with location, too. (Usually solved by toggling GPS, rebooting, or just waiting.) But it got much better with 2.1 installed. I can only recall once where it required more than a few second wait.

    In Chesapeake, VA.
     
  18. lessit

    lessit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    31
    On the first 2 leaks I noticed occasional problems getting GPS fixes. I used the gps for a few thousand miles of trips. On the third leak I have not had any problem yet, and I've run a couple thousand miles and a multistate trip too.
     
  19. blacknite

    blacknite Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you tried the app gps status? it will show you the signal strength of the various satellites and the rest of the raw gps data. if its not locking in the gps satellites, then it'll never be accurate.

    [​IMG]

    qrcode for gps status.
     
  20. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    It might not be your phones problem at all. Depending are where you are at geographically, solar flares have been wreaking havoc with GPS satellites as of late. Making some completely useless.

    BTW, I use my Eris for geocaching, and it gets me to within 15 of feet of it every single time. I dont even use my standalone GPSr anymore.
     
  21. KiWiLiT43

    KiWiLiT43 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on my second Eris and the GPS on this phone is much more accurate than the previous Eris I had. The old phone (among its many issues) would not stay locked on, and would take for ever to get an accurate signal. New phone, only takes seconds. Could be your particular phone is having GPS problems?
     
  22. hendrickson.dj

    hendrickson.dj Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello again, and thanks everybody!

    I tried several of your suggestions ... and lo and behold it started working. (Or I finally inadvertently did something right.)

    You all were a tremendous help -- thanks for the time and information.

    And of course ... no sooner did I get the thing up and running when I got prompt to upgrade to 2.1.

    Navigator works great, though, eh?

    Peace.
     
  23. byteware

    byteware Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,140
    Likes Received:
    210
    I suspect that you've got your GPS turned off, and are using cell towers to estimate your location.
     
  24. Natas

    Natas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    13
    The problems I have with GPS are funny. I live on a one-way street, the map SHOWS it as one way, but yet the GPS tells me to drive down the wrong way.
     
  25. wpetering

    wpetering Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Works good for me. I'm pursuing my private pilots license and recently I used "My Tracks" app on a flight. Stuck the phone on the floor behind my seat, hit record and I was able to see my entire flight from wheels up to parking it.
    It was pretty cool to see my maneuvers on google maps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...