Eris and hero...same phoneGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    just so you guys know, sprint came out with this phone a few weeks ago. it is the same phone as the eris. its called the hero. I'm sure there are a few of you that already know this...but i'm trying to help the folks that dont know. Now with that being said: Surf the sprint htc hero forums and you'll get some insight as to why the batter may not be lasting, which programs cause issues, info on updates, and where to get an extended battery from. how this helps some of you. and just to let you know, task killer caused my baterry to run down quicker. when i deleted it and reset the phone...all was good...i get a little more than a days use out of it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. phillydroid

    phillydroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    I'm also having some battery issues. I took taskkiller off, we'll see how that works. When you say you reset afterwards you just mean that you turned the phone off and then on again.

    Also when i go to setting I only see "Up time" and "Awake time" are you getting sleep time by just subtracting or does your phone actually show "sleep"

    I'm assuming up time is the time since the phone has been turned on? i turned it off and on again about 25min ago and it says that and 100 percent "awake" time. It is plugged into the charger...

    Also how do you disable your sms once you install handcent??
     
  3. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    answer is in the first post here philly

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/16859-eris-tips-tricks.html
     
  4. phillydroid

    phillydroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    just saw that.....thanks caddy
     
  5. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    de nada :)
     
  6. Grimster

    Grimster Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint Hero and Verizon Eris are NOT the exact same phones. The Eris is much more refined, and has extra features, does not suffer from the dust under the Sprint Hero screen issues, lots more.
     
  7. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    :rolleyes: Yea guy you are so right. it so much more refined. how so? what is all the extra features? it has a proximity sensor? seems to still have the battery issues i see. And it might even be worse since you have a 1300mah battery vs. the hero's 1500 mah battery. and i hear the screen Is missing the coating that the hero has. Dust under the screen...I havent had that issue. You can remove the junk apps that sprint put on. they dont bother me. my battery lasts from 6a.m. till 12a.m. that night. I have no battery issues. Dont come in here and tell me the eris is much more refined, because its not. The two phones are based on the same platform. There are pro's and con's to each. i like both. I just cant seem to bend over and take it up the rear for 149.99 for unlimited everything vs. 99.99 on sprint. and as you read in the hero forum, verizon and sprint roam on each other network...and guess what...roaming is not extra...so why does it matter? So you can pay $600 a year more for your proximity sensor and your less junk apps....i'm happy with mine. I didnt come in here to compare both phone either dude, I came in here trying to help eris owners who are having problems with their phones...so i figured i'd direct them to a forum that might have answers to their problems. Since your eris is so much more refined than the hero, why dont you stay out of the hero forum looking for answers......your better than us remember :D
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    o the hostility....geez peeps relax...

    like i said over on the hero forum, they are sibling phones, with that comes sibling rivalry, but keep it light, no need to get upset..
     
  9. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    What i meant by reset, was restore the phone to factory specs...which wipes out everything. It didnt wipe out my contacts tho. awake time being 100% is bad, your battery wont last long. TO DISABLE THE FACTORY MESSAGE APP, go to the message app>then menu>settings and then uncheck auto retrieve, delivery reports, and notifications. do not use it even 1 time to send a message after restoring. immediately install handcent and use only it. discard the factory message icon too. it seems that not all phones experience this problem. but this seems to be a temporary fix.
     
  10. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm not getting upset. its just funny how some people act about their own phone...its the best...if he had a hero it would be the best, or an iphone...it would be the best. i was just making a point about the shortcomings of both. neither one is "better", they are essentially the same phone with some minor changes. does it even really matter? no. personally i'd rather have my phone black, but the titanium color i have looks great to...it looks way better than the samsung instinct hd i had. even with its quirks, this is by far the best phone i have ever owned. I get the iphone guys here at work pissed at me on a daily basis...like today..someone was bragging about their star wars ring tones...i went to the market and get the sound board for FREE (he had to jail break his to get them) and then he said "well you go the sound board, mine are ring tones" I said Ha, watch this...press and hold each sound and voila...converted to ringtone...take that iphone junkies. and ring droid is awsome too..take any of my music and chop it to whatever i want as a ring tone...then he said I'm sure we have an app for that...I said show me..he walked off...lol
     
  11. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    o and from what i jus read, the eris has no multi tap...the hero does..lol, i was playing a game yesterday where you had to hold one icon to go and steer with another icon...so does the eris have pinch zoom?

    and another thing, you do have some junk apps, Footprints, Stocks, Visual VM

    booya! lol
     
  12. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    yes the eris has pinch zoom
     
  13. Grimster

    Grimster Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically the Sprint Hero is a prototype/BETA device to the Eris. Eris is much more refined and has more features. Also no dust can get under the screen since its sealed unlike the Sprint Hero.
     
  14. ssgmun32

    ssgmun32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    Has it been proven that Eris is more refined than the Hero. Dont they both run Android 1.5?
     
  15. LTZguy

    LTZguy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    No and yes. The other dude is f.o.s. lol
     
  16. Grimster

    Grimster Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it has. We have gone over this quite alot already...

    1. The Eris does not have the lag issues the Hero has.
    2. Eris has proximity sensor Hero does not.
    3. Eris has sealed screen, Hero does not and dust will eventually get under it and there is nothing you can do.
    4. Eris is slimmer and more pocketable.
    5. Eris has more solid build quality and has quality feel to it. Hero feels alittle more plasticy.
     
  17. Danimal1985

    Danimal1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know about the multi tap thingy.... supposedly we are getting that in the new OS update or something.... which has been in the news or forums forever and nothing has happened... maybe b/c Steve jobs is being a jerk and trying to sue HTC... when do have the pinch zoom... what I want to know is can I DL software that says for hero... since it seems that they are only offering updates for the Hero and not Eris... which isn't even listed >_<.... or am I just SOL at this point since when I do try to get software the thing says no you can't?.... oh and I say the Eris does feel Plasticy too, since the back cover can be pulled off by a 2 year old
     

Share This Page

Loading...