eris and root..General


Last Updated:

  1. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    How close is the eris to being rooted? I havent heard anything so I'm wondering if its even possible on the eris..

    Also, can someone tell me how well google voice works on the eris, i use it for texting now and im not sure i want to tell everyone my verizon number till i port my number over.

    If i get a plan 59 or higher i can have the unlimted 5 people and would be able to set it up as number for calls.. in theory? has anyone done so and can you help me with the settings ill need? I'm getting mine sometime tomorrow! yay!
     

    Advertisement
  2. willdogs

    willdogs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    665
    Likes Received:
    211
  3. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not close at all, in other words. There seems to have, MAYBE, been some kind of exploit found..not sure if it can be used yet.
     
  4. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    i see u in the XDA forum :)
    im just following...i have no desire to try to help out :)
    sorry but i would rather those more brave and has more balls then me try it first :)
    im a chicken, thats my story and im stickin with it!
     
  5. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    If it does get rooted, what are the chances of someone cooking up a rom with 2. something for us together? Also, I'm going to wait as well till something is widely released.. I remember it wasnt all that difficult on the g1 back when i had it, but it did take some time to get done.

    This is one thing I will miss coming from my iphone, where it seemed as soon as a new firmware was released a few days later it was jailbroken..

    Can anyone answer the google voice question?

    Btw, this forum rocks!
     
  6. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    please, the 2.1 phones arent out and people are running those roms on the g1!! :)
    iphone cannot keep up to the technological advances android hackers are making. sorry...i have a thorn on my side for iphones :)
    anyways, as you should know, once the eris is rooted we can get 2.1 cause...its rip ready :)
    i just want that animated wallpaper in the nexus one that has 2.1!! :)
    or the animated wallpaper that the hd2 uses.
     
  7. jandatec

    jandatec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK,

    You asked for it, you got it.

    1. I have a HTC Eris and so does my wife. We bought them at the same time. (I am a network engineer and she is a neophyte!)

    2. I have been using GV for since way before GC and love it. She just started using it after we got the Eris phones.

    3. We both have the app installed and both have a secondary browser call dolphin installed and setup to our GV accounts as home page and the GV app is installed on both phones.

    4. We have a Family plan with F&F and have 10 numbers of which her GV number, my GV number and the GV bridge number we both use are setup. (THIS IS PARAMOUNT OR YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR MINUTES ONCE YOUR PLAN GOES OVER AND IT WILL)

    5. Even though we both have the same phone and everything is the same, I have problems dialing out using call with GV. I ususall open dolphin and tell GV via the website which number I want to call and then it calls me and connects the call, no problem. MY WIFE DOES NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM AND I FOUND A BUG REPORT FROM GV SAYING THEY KNOW ABOUT THIS AND IT WILL BE FIXED SOON.

    Also, GV claims the problem is fixed in Eclair 2.x and I have a friend with the Droid and GV and he has no problem what so ever with GV!!

    6. If you are going to use GV for you SMS as well which I recomend to save the extra money from VW then you should turn off SMS forwarding or else you will have to delete and manage the SMS from the messenger app as well as GV and it becomes extra work.

    7. Incoming calls are no problem for both of us and it works great.

    8. One thing I have notice, is you have to keep an eye on how much memory you use. DON'T GO BELOW 30 MEGS AVAILABLE RAM OR YOUR SYSTEM WILL CRASH!!!!

    ON ANOTHER NOTE!!!

    9. There are a some of real cool apps that are really necessary.
    A. Advanced Task Killer.
    B. System Tray Monitor - to monitor memory in real time on the ap
    bar
    C. WiFinder - (Obvious)
    D. Terminal Emulater - (FOR ADVANCED ONLY)
    E. LOOKOUT - (AV, Backup and Find lost unit)
    F. eRay - to clear out the cache from several areas and programs to
    re-gain space and it will fill up as you use the programs.
    G. Netcounter - to keep track of your DATA used on Wifi and 3G
    H. Powermanager Paid version - (Allows you to setup power profiles
    VERY IMPORTANT)
    I. PDANet - will let you tether to a laptop with out rooting but no BT
    until 2.x (TETHERING NOT AVAILABLE AND WILL COST 15.00 WHEN
    IS)
    J. Volume Control - (Obvious and much more granular)
    K. Ring Toggle - (Lets you go between Silent, VB only, Ring Only and
    VB and ring with just one click)
    L. Keep Wifi - lets the Wifi stay on when the screen/system goes to
    sleep mode, should only be used with power plugged in as uses
    much more power but saves data charges.
    M. Quick uninstaller - or any other package that does the same thing
    quickly.
    N. Y5 Batter Saver - Shuts down Wifi when not connected to a known
    hotspot so you don't waste power.
    O. Mabilo Ringtones - Hugh selection and does all the heavy lifting for
    you.

    This is what I currently use and a few others but they add so much funtionality and only a couple are paid for and only like .99 cents.

    If you need to do HW reset all of you data and photos should be stored on the SD card so you won't lose anything and GV is stored up in the cloud.

    TO DO A HARDWARE RESET, JUST HOLD DOWN THE GREEN PHONE AND THE VOLUME CONTROL WHILE YOU POWER ON AND IT WILL PROMPT YOU TO DO A HW RESET (SHOULD ONLY BE USED IF YOU SYSTEM KEEPS RESETTING DO TO SYTEM OVERLOAD).

    Rooting with also let you setup your SD as extension of your memory and store apps on it as well. Big Big Big deal!

    Good luck and I hope we get this thing rooted soon casuse without that, we have no control over location and GPS on and off in the Powermanager and the memory stuff and much much more.

    Hope this helps,

    Jandatec.:cool:
     
  8. Ataranine

    Ataranine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    7
    You do know there's an option right in the settings of the phone to let the WiFi stay on while the phone's sleeping right? And also, it doesn't use more power. Quite the opposite actually. The WiFi chip uses less power than the 3G Chip.
     
  9. jandatec

    jandatec New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    That is alot better than using a program you don't need.

    Much Thanks,

    JT;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...