Eris Bugs?General


Last Updated:

  1. socarwolverine

    socarwolverine Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    26
    Can someone help me out, I'm trying to get an Eris off eBay and wanted to know what this 50% signal bug thing was. I tried searching but don't really know enough about it to know what i'm looking for.

    Also, first time ever having a smartphone any suggestions or other things/tips I should know?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    The 50% bug really only deals with the 2.1 leaks. If the phone is running the stock 1.5 os then it won't be a concern. The bug just shows, inaccurately, that your phone is not receiving proper signal 50% of the time. It is listed in the settings under about phone and battery use on a phone running 2.1. We are also not entirely sure that it affects the phone or battery life in anyway. It is just something we have found and is easily fixed, although temporarily.

    If you are planning to get the phone off of ebay, be aware that some people have reported zero warranty with phones purchased from non Verizon retailers.

    Also, make sure that the seller provides the ESN before you pay for the phone so that you can verify with Verizon that it isn't a reported lost or stolen phone. They block the ESNs of those phones and won't allow activation.
     
  3. Jezi_Buckz

    Jezi_Buckz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry, how do you check if you have the bug?
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Settings->About Phone->Battery Use->Cell Standby

    If you "Time without a signal" at 50%, you have the bug.

    To "fix" it, put the phone in Airplane mode (long-press the end call/power key, and choose the option from the menu), let the display sleep, then power back on and turn off airplane mode the same way. (I put "fix" in quotes only because what you are fixing is just the display in that particular location; from this point on, time without signal will start falling back to 0.)
     
    mr-matt likes this.
  5. Jezi_Buckz

    Jezi_Buckz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2

    Sorry I'm a little confused, does it actually permenantly FIX the issue or just fix for the time being?
     
  6. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    What it is fixing is the internal timer that is tracking the actual time without a signal. It fixes the problem, unfortunately, only until the next time that you restart the phone. So long as it stays running, the time without a signal counter will run correctly.

    It does not seem to actually drain the battery. Quite often I forget to "fix" this and don't notice it until later, but battery use is always within what I typically see.
     

Share This Page

Loading...