Eris has terrible connection.... Always???General


Last Updated:

  1. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone else have absolutely terrible coverage all the time? About 90% of the time I have one or no bars of service. And my 3g connection is always awful. I'm starting to think its just the Eris because I've had other phones with Verizon and have had very good coverage with them.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    It's likely just the signal indicator. It's a known problem. You can check your actual signal strength by going into settings, about phone, network.
     
  3. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Under signal strength it says -75 dBM, is that bad?
     
  4. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    No, that's not too bad. Mine fluctuates between -65 and -80 at home. The closer to "0", the better. So -65 is better than -80. The best I've ever seen is -58. If you start to get near -100, then you'll begin having connection issues.

    If you check it once in awhile, you'll notice the inconstancy between your actual signal strength and the indicator.
     
  5. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Call *228 and do both option 1 and 2. That should help a little bit.

    Also, make a call and then look at your signal then. It's accurate during a call.
     
  6. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, yea mine is about -65 to -80 also.
     
  7. eriscentro

    eriscentro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm at -87
     
  8. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my basement I just got like -92.
     
  9. eriscentro

    eriscentro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    I did a *22899 and went from -87 to -93 :(
     
  10. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Signal strength changes constantly and is affected by weather, the structure you're in, and other interference in the air.

    Updating will only help you if new towers have been added near you since your last update.
     
  11. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did one also and it didn't get any better.
     
  12. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Actually false, updating will only help you if your in a roaming area. If they add a tower in the same sid your phone will grab it. If your on a borderline area and they open up something new I guess it could help.
     
  13. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Yes, that is what happened to me. I live on the fringe area between Alltel coverage and VZW coverage. Now that they're one in the same, it doesn't matter, but before it made a difference for me when Alltel would add towers.
     
  14. SirEagle

    SirEagle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    80
    I'm always around -90 in my house and have never had a dropped or missed call.
     
  15. T-Keith

    T-Keith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    33
    89 db in my house. Coverage is actually better then my old phone(samsung juke). Coverage is pretty good and don't have any holes or dropped calls near my home or work. I'm sure other phones may be better though.
     
  16. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    I'm showing 2 bars right now and my signal strength is -68. Did a 3g speed test and it shows 1.5 mb down and 862 kb up.
     
  17. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I'm showing 1 bar of service with -66 dBm. Every once in awhile a 2nd bar will light up. I've never run 3g speed test.
     
  18. Guitarman

    Guitarman Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you do a 3g speed test?
     
  19. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Search for speed test in the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...