Eris Tips and TricksTips


Last Updated:

  1. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    I don't think we have a thread like this yet...if so merge or delete or w/e

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    BACKUP YOUR PHONE NOW! CLICK HERE FOR INFO ON BACKING UP ERIS

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    1 thing I found that is great IMO, long press on the (physical) call button brings up voice dial, just say your contacts name and it gives you their options...works very well for me, i was in my car, window part down, raining, stereo on, and it picked up my voice every time and was right on it's options.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Press and hold home button on screen - bring up pop window with voice search, camera, camcorder, calc, voice dialer and phone icons.

    Press and hold Menu button on screen - brings up keyboard

    Press and Hold Search button on screen - brings up google voice search automatically.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    IMPORTANT, this it seems has led to many people having a whole myriad of problems that unfortunately lead to hard resets.....IMO hard reset is a huge PITA and should be avoided at all cost so I will add this info here.

    This tips pertains to apps. DO NOT go crazy when you get your phone and download and install 10 apps all at once, don't even install 2 apps at once. this is not because the phone can't handle it but there are quite a few apps that seems to be buggy. more-so it seems many apps don't play well together. this can lead to any number of issues for you.

    my advice is to download and install apps one at a time, after installed open it and check out all the features. if everything seems to be working, great, on to the next one.

    ALSO if you install an app that controls an in built setting on your phone like say a mobile network toggle widget, or ringtone changer, anything that there is a duplicate switch in the phones native settings MAKE SURE you undo whatever you did with that app BEFORE you uninstall it. EX: for a network toggle, toggle your network back on with it before you uninstall it....if you don't it seems there is a chance it will make that setting stick after being uninstalled and then you are SOL.

    just be mindful of the apps you are using and their uses, features, what they control, etc.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    ALL VOICE COMMANDS - VARIOUS AUTHORS
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    To get to the voice comman prompt, simply long press the call (green) button.

    Just speak "open battery info" and you will get a lot of interesting info

    LINK TO A LOT OF VOICE COMMANDS SOME MIGHT NOT WORK THOUGH
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/19649-voice-command-list.html

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    A mini usb data cable will work for the eris although the OEM connector looks different.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    like most droid phones, if you long press the home button it will show your 6 most recent apps.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    as a long time bb user there are some things that may be obvious for the seasoned android user but not for me...

    like when i was researching the battery drain issue with the native sms app they say to reboot your phone. "reboot" to me as a bb user is a battery pull but i think holding the end call button and pressing power off is actually a android reboot, no battery pull required.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    may as well add this here too....i had a hard time finding clear instructions on this previously so it wont hurt, thanks to member flipz CLICK

    if you have horrendous battery life it may be because your native sms app is preventing your phone from sleeping.

    to check go to settings>about phone>status and at the bottom wake time. if it is 100% you more then likely have this bug

    to fix it go into your messages app, menu>setting> and turn off notifications.

    go to the android market and download handcent sms or chomp sms, and install. then pick a contact and press send sms, pick your new sms app as default, and send any message. then do a reboot.

    once that is all done, power on your phone, let is sleep for a minute after reboot and go back to settings>about phone>status and at the bottom wake time. if it is around 50% or so the fix has worked and you should be able to charge faster and hold a charge longer.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by quaff1976

    For battery info, dial (*#*#4636#*#*) and press Call. This will bring up a sort of field test mode. Select Battery Information. This will tell you a lot about your battery.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by koala bear

    the link to the full eris manual

    http://member.america.htc.com/downl...erizon/DROID_ERIS_Verizon_English_UM_11_5.pdf


    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by GPLarge

    Alternate method for picture taking. If you have a hard time pressing the track ball just long press anywhere on the screen and it fill autofocus and snap your pic.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Posted by Jethro, and alternative to touching the speakerphone icon on the screen when in a call

    Just press & hold the CALL button when in a call to switch between headset & speakerphone


    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by Grimster

    Watch youtube videos in high quality over Verizon network.

    Disappointed in youtube video quality over Verizon network? When watching a video over the Verizon network press the Menu button on the phone and you can select High Quality. Enjoy the crystal clear video.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    by Grizzld

    To unlock the phone, you can also press the "end" key followed by the "menu" key instead of swiping the screen.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by dan on another forum, reposted by blizzard on this forum

    for wifi turning off when screen goes off (phone goes to sleep)

    "Press the Menu button and go to Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Wi-fi Settings
    - Once there, press the menu button again and select "Advanced"
    - Select "Wi-fi sleep policy" and make sure "When screen turns off" is NOT selected. If it is, change it to one of the other ones."

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Posted by L0stS0ul

    You can disable the Sense UI without uninstalling it or rooting the device (which to my knowledge is not yet possible as there are no roms).

    To switch to the stock android home manually do:

    1. Click Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Applications.
    2. Scroll down until you find an application named "HTC Sense" and click on it.
    3. Scroll down to where you can see "Launch by default" and click on "Clear defaults".
    3. Then push the Home button (on your phone) and a dialog will pop up showing "Home" and "HTC Sense", check "Use by default for this action" and then click "Home". Now you got "Home" as default.

    Just repeat the same process for "Home" to go back to the "HTC Sense" UI.

    Alternatively you can use a program on the market place called "Home Switcher" to do this for you.


    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by me

    you can easily set toggles on your home screen to flip gps, wifi, mobile network, and bluetooth on and off with one touch. Simply hold a open spot on your home screen to add widget, pick htc widgets, pick settings, then add whatever widget you want to control.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    posted by LostS0ul

    I've also learned that there is a right way and a wrong way to exit an application. I almost always hit the home button to get back to the home screen. This actually is wrong and I'm working to change my habits. The "correct" way is to use the back button. The OS apparently forces some cleanup when you hit the back button that it doesn't if you hit home. I've noticed my phone uses less memory when I use the back button. I wonder if those having serious lag issues are doing what I do and hit the home button as well?

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    POSTED BY SMACKY

    1. ##pst (##778)
    2. "000000"
    3. Modem
    4. Slot cycle
    5. When you're done exploring all the different options, be sure to hit "menu" and to save the changes. Don't back out as it won't save them.
    6. You will be forced to restart and the changes should be made.


    I bumped it from 2 to 1. Waiting to see the effect on battery life. If it isnt bad, I'll bump it to 0. Maybe its placebo, but I feel 3G is faster for me. Probably not, but i like to pretend it is.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    POSTED BY JCUMV

    Accessing Corporate Email Global Address list from your Eris

    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/37592-instructions-how-access-global-email-list-corp-exchange.html

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    prevent gmail email contacts from synching to phone

    posted by tomlin2
    Log into Gmail and make sure all the contacts you want to sync are under "My Contacts". Then using the Eris: People>Groups (3 heads on the bottom)>Menu>Sync Groups. Uncheck "Sync all contacts". Whenever Gmail creates a contact it will be in "All Contacts" which will no longer sync.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------




    More to come...
     

    Advertisement
    myturtletime, JennRN, mema2.1 and 8 others like this.
  2. spoon691

    spoon691 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx for the tip...i have an eris and left my charger at work but saw your thread that a usb will work on the eris although it looks different. just plugged it in and works like a charm....
     
  3. Nate

    Nate Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think this could develop into a cool thread. Stickied.

    and Welcome spoon.
     
  4. spoon691

    spoon691 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    within the next few days...i will post a list of everything i discovered on the phone by playing with it and trial and error.

    welcome to you too!!
     
  5. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    thanks Nate :)

    i will try to take anyone who posts a good tip or trick and add it to the first post with creds to the author

    like more droid phones, if you long press the home button it will show your 6 most recent apps.
     
  6. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    as a long time bb user there are some things that may be obvious for the seasoned android user but not for me...

    like when i was researching the battery drain issue with the native sms app they say to reboot your phone. "reboot" to me as a bb user is a battery pull but i think holding the end call button and pressing power off is actually a android reboot, no battery pull required.

    may as well add this here too....i had a hard time finding clear instructions on this previously so it wont hurt

    if you have horrendous battery life it may be because your native sms app is preventing your phone from sleeping.

    to check go to settings>about phone>status and at the bottom wake time. if it is 100% you more then likely have this bug

    to fix it go into your messages app, menu>setting> and turn off notifications.

    go to the android market and download handcent sms or chomp sms, and install. then pick a contact and press send sms, pick your new sms app as default, and send any message. then do a reboot.

    once that is all done, power on your phone, let is sleep for a minute after reboot and go back to settings>about phone>status and at the bottom wake time. if it is around 50% or so the fix has worked and you should be able to charge faster and hold a charge longer.
     
  7. lucdozzi

    lucdozzi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    about the battery life fix...do you then have to keep the chomp sms? i downloaded chomp sms and im not sure if i like it as much as the default droid text messaging app...
     
  8. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    yes, once you do the fix you are not to use the native app ever again (till hopefully htc or vz patches it)

    fwiw i prefer handcent over chomp, check it out....free also
     
  9. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    posted by quaff1976


    For battery info, dial (*#*#4636#*#*) and press Call. This will bring up a sort of field test mode. Select Battery Information. This will tell you a lot about your battery.
     
  10. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    12
    m.nbc.com plays full videos. Today at work I was watching "The Office" and SNL =P

    Beware - this will suck up battery life.
     
  11. phillydroid

    phillydroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question

    I have dl'd handcent, selected it as my default. Rebooted sent messages etc. under my original default sms i went to notifications and it says "display messages notifications in status bar" and I unchecked it........that is the only notification related option though....is that it?

    Also i have apparently sent a few blank phantom txts to people i have already txted today...any idea what that is about. It happened a few times earlier and now once since installing cents
     
  12. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    yeah the notifiations is off on the default app that should be it

    what do you mean by phanthom messages?
     
  13. phillydroid

    phillydroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    people in my contacts who i have already txted today have said i txted them blank messages (page) on a few occasions. I would say 3x to one person, and 1 time to 2 other people.
     
  14. andrewzpsu

    andrewzpsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    12


    The phantom messages happen when you have sent out a blank text to someone. It shows up as undeliverable. Every time you restart your phone the phone tries to send it again. It actually does send but the phone doesn't realize it.

    To fix, go to messages, press menu, and go to the undeliverable menu (if it doesn't show up, you've delivered all your messages). And then delete the ones in that list.
     
  15. phillydroid

    phillydroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    I'm using Handcent now and LOVING it. I love the conversation style and ability to personalize it. I'm testing out the battery life today but it appears that my awake and up percentages are good now. I've got 90some percent now and we'll see what it is by the end of the day. I am using this ap called battery graph. Not sure how much battery it is using. I went to bed with 70%, there was one spike that took it down 5% over an hour it looks like (if this ap is accurate) and then it dropped another 3% steadily over night.
     
  16. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've noticed that when you are charging the device it does not ever go to sleep so your up time and awake time will be equal if you check it right after charging.

    Compass calibration seems to be a hard piece of information to find. I've noticed on my device that the compass seems to loose calibration from app to app. Say I calibrate the compass inside GPS Status then close it and go into LAYAR. The compass will be messed up again. So I've found I have to recalibrate it anytime I open up an app that uses it. Has anyone else found this to be the case? BTW here's a good video showing how to calibrate the compass in these types of phones:

    YouTube - Best Compass Calibration Method (iPhone/G1/etc.)
     
  17. GPLarge

    GPLarge Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Alternate method for picture taking. If you have a hard time pressing the track ball just long press anywhere on the screen and it fill autofocus and snap your pic. I came across this one by accident.
     
    monteis2000 likes this.
  18. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    added, thank you GP!
     
  19. GPLarge

    GPLarge Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also don't know if this applies here or just Android phones in general. Set up you Gmail account before you go to the store to get your phone, sync up your contacts and when you activate your phone it will import you contacts.
     
  20. pingram3541

    pingram3541 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you long press menu it brings up the keyboard anytime whether there is an application to use it or not.
     
  21. Nate

    Nate Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Caddyman- Why couldn't you disable notifications on the native SMS application and continue using it? Why would you have to use a different one?
     
  22. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Not exactly sure Nate, that is just the info i found posted around...
     
  23. Grimster

    Grimster Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Watch youtube videos in high quality over Verizon network.

    Disappointed in youtube video quality over Verizon network? When watching a video over the Verizon network press the Menu button on the phone and you can select High Quality. Enjoy the crystal clear video.
     
  24. Nate

    Nate Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Grimster, that helped alot. Have you figured out how to always keep high quality turned on?
     
  25. L0stS0ul

    L0stS0ul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've been having a problem with my device dropping the wifi connection every time the screen goes off. 6 times out of 10 or so it'll reconnect quickly when I use the device again but sometimes it does not and I have to cycle the wifi to reconnect to the routers (it'll say the wifi connection is out of range and can't connect).

    I want it to stay on wifi at all times when inside a wifi area and I have wifi turned on to minimize the verizon data being used. You can set this like so:

    Click: settings > wireless controls > wifi settings
    Then Click: menu > click advanced >
    Then Click: wifi sleep policy > click never

    I'm testing it out now to see if it has any bad affect on the battery life. From what I understand the wifi chip takes less power then the 3g chip so it should in theory use less when wifi is available.
     

Share This Page

Loading...