error upon app install and rebootGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. fahertyps

    fahertyps Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anyone else having problems with error messages when they install apps? I was in the habit of installing multiple applications from the market before rebooting, but started having problems with the phone not working and getting other error messages so I now try to reboot after each install. I just tired to install and run advance task killer (ATK) twice and after each reboot I'd get at least 2-3 errors. If I uninstall it and reboot all seems to be ok. Same happened with Bloo and an AK-47 app (game).

    Corrupt OS? Suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Why are you rebooting after installing aps?
     
  3. fahertyps

    fahertyps Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    because I have found that after installing some apps I get errors and the phone/data connection won't work. So if i install multiple apps I don't know which one is causing the errors.

    errors are related to:
    com.google.process.gapps, com.andoid and process com.htc.launcher
     
  4. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    you need to refomat your phone that's an os error not an app error. that happens when the android os get corrupted from not compleating a task. a fresh wipe will fix it.
     
  5. fahertyps

    fahertyps Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think deep down I knew that, but was hoping to avoid the hassle of reinstalling everything... Thanks though. I do that through the "reset to factory" tool?

    What's to keep this from happening again?
     
  6. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes factory reset is fine. as far as keeping it from happening it's kinda random so not much prevention you can do. kinda like with windows when operators ask me why windows gives an error and i just reply it's windows. But all joke aside hopefully it won't happen again only happened once with me on my G1 reset fixxed it. now i have an Eris.
     
  7. fahertyps

    fahertyps Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I did the factory reset and all was working well until I decided to restore my data from the SD card with My Backup--Bad Idea! Eris is now a brick... Will not boot past the htc screen-it just hangs there. I just called htc and they said to take it to VZW for a replacement. - Very frustrating.

    Update (12/7/09)- I went to my local VZW store yesterday and the contract technician that I spoke to asked the VZW tech (employee) what to do as far as the replacement device. He suggested trying the hard reset one more time (volume down + green phone + power/red phone). It worked and my Eris cam back to life (granted it was back to factory settings). SO I'm now in the process of reinstalling all my apps, etc. I'm still going to reboot it every once in a while to make sure the OS does not get corrupted again. The VZW reps said they have seen a lot of problems, but did not recall seeing this particular one before.

    I also asked about v2.0 or v2.1 and he said he had just read about it this that morning and it will be within the next 2 weeks.
     
  8. JackButler

    JackButler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you reset your phone to factory reset...how do get back your paid apps?
     
  9. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1

    those are saved on googles server as already purchased by your google id so you can just redownload them from the market in the downloads tab on your phone
     

Share This Page

Loading...