Ever since I rooted my G1 . . .


Last Updated:

  1. dystopias

    dystopias New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    it worked well for a while but now everything seems a bit slow. And seemingly randomly it will pop up a window saying that an application has stopped responding and ask if i want to wait or to force close. If i press wait it usually pops back to normal in a few seconds.

    I would love to know how to fix this or else I will have to un-root it, as it is so slow as to be almost unusable.

    any ideas? anyone have this problem?

    thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    This happens with some rooted builds and depends on what apps you might run as well as widgets ....

    Suggest you remove all widgets from desltop pages and see if you get difference ...
     
  3. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    What rom are you usings ??

    Have you downloaded CMupdater from the Market ?
     
  4. dystopias

    dystopias New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just downloaded cmupdater and it says no roms found. . .

    i'm not sure how to tell what rom i'm using but i can tell you that this is what my phone says under settings, about phone:

    firmware version:
    1.5
    kernel version:
    2.6.27-00392-g8312baf
    jesusfreke@spork #2
    build number:
    crb43

    does that help?
    I'll try removing widgets now - all i have widget wise is:
    weatherbug, calendar, and countdown widget (29 days until mexico vacation!)

    thanks for your help.
     
  5. dystopias

    dystopias New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i removed the widgets and it seems to be running smooth . . . thanks for the advice! i'm going to put them back one by one to see which one was the culprit.
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Glad that helped ... let us know what the culprit is when you find it ....
     
  7. dystopias

    dystopias New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it was the countdown widget. . . i think it was called countdown droid . . . i've since switched roms to the cyanogen and deleted all my old programs . . but i think that was it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...