EVO and Navigation


Last Updated:

  1. Autosuggestion

    Autosuggestion Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    108
    So is this going to have Google Navi like the Droid, or are we going to be stuck with Sprint Nav?

    I don't know if this has been answered somewhere else, but the Google Nav is a big selling point for me.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    I'm sure it'll have both. I don't see why Sprint would block Google Navigation.
     
  3. Autosuggestion

    Autosuggestion Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    108
    I didn't see it listed on the spec sheet, all I saw was Google Maps.

    I sure hope so, having this baby in a car dock like the Droid would be too amazing.
     
  4. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    5,030
    According to the Spec sheet it does say Sprint Navigation.

    See spec sheet.

    TS out
     
  5. Autosuggestion

    Autosuggestion Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well let's just hope someone finds a way to get Google Nav on there.
     
  6. treefq

    treefq Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Once it's rooted, put whatever you want to on it!!!!

    Personally I don't need 99% of the Sprint Apps that come on any of the phones.

    Root, burn and go
     
  7. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    Isnt Google Nav built in to Google Maps?
     
  8. Autosuggestion

    Autosuggestion Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    108
    On Google experience phones, I believe so, but not having owned a HTC/Google phone, I'm not too sure.

    Its obviously not on the iPhone which is what I am using now.

    Is it available on the Hero or any other HTC/Google phone with Sense?
     
  9. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15

    It's integrates yes, but it's a separate app. So sounds like a good chance the EVO might not have Google nav...
     
  10. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    I have the Hero, last week I had flashed the Eris 2.1 ROM which included Google Nav, it seemed like a separate app on top of google maps, but if I have my facts straight, I was under the impression that anything above 1.6 or 2.0 OS would be able to get get Google Nav.
     
  11. Autosuggestion

    Autosuggestion Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    108
    I'm starting to believe that Sprint chose to lock it down and require you to use Sprint Nav.

    I mean, if it's free, then thats cool, but I seriously loved Google Nav for the short amount of time I had my Droid.
     
  12. kronium

    kronium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    No worries guys, you can download the app when you get your EVO. "Google Maps Navigation is currently only available in the United States on phones that run Android 1.6 and higher, including the Nexus One."

    Google Maps Navigation for mobile
     
  13. Covert_Death

    Covert_Death Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,091
    Likes Received:
    665
    yea worst case scenario i'm sure a phone with this hype will be rooted in no time and you can put a desire ROM onto it that has just pure plain old google android with a clean wrap of sense
     
  14. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    With the hardware this is rocking, I can almost guarantee Sprint will throw at least 5 new crapps in it just because it's quickly becoming a spotlight. I think rooting this thing as SOON as possible post-release will almost need to be necessary.
     
  15. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    5,030
    I'm curious to know if someone over at xda will overclock it. Imagine this baby at 1.5 GHz yikes.... (That surely will be fast)

    TS out (putting on racing gear)
     
  16. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    You'll know an answer as soon as 2.1 comes out for the Hero or Moment. If they block Google Nav on those...then I'm guessing it'll be the same on the EVO. I don't think they'll block it...they've already seen the backlash that ATT has received over the backflip.
     
  17. eve6er69

    eve6er69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    well most likely they will require a everything plan and sprint nav comes with that. you dont need to use it just need to have it on your phone. it would be different for sprint to lock something like verizon sometimes does.
     
  18. billsmed

    billsmed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    894
    My guess is that you'll have both Google maps and Sprint Nav.
     
  19. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    those may not get Nav simply because they don't have enough processing power to make it run smoothly...

    people with spring heros are such wishful thinkers! :p
     
  20. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    Isn't Google Nav integrated into Google Maps? If they block Nav then they have to block Google Maps all together. I don't know about most other phones but on the Mytouch running 1.6, you get to Nav thru Google Maps > Directions > input location > then navigate.

    Is it a stand alone feature on other phones?
     
  21. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    think of it as a module that is imbedded in maps... if google wants to, they can remove it (and replace with Sprint's nav...)
     
  22. shawn1224

    shawn1224 Ex CEO-DNPSEA foundation VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,186
    Likes Received:
    292
    Okay I guess that makes sense and after what AT&T did with the Backflip I guess anything is possible.
     
  23. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    I'm running a 2.1 ROM and Google Nav runs perfectly smooth...much better in fact than then Sprint Nav.
     
  24. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    well then, that's cool! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...