EVO + Apple Airport Extreme + Xbox

Last Updated:

1. bestphonever

bestphonever Active Member This Topic's Starter

Greetings and salutations.

I have a small issue in that whenever my EVO is connected to my router (Apple Airport Extreme) and my xbox 360 is on, the xbox keeps getting disconnected. I can connect and get a couple games in until my connection to xbox live gets dropped.

This problem goes away when my evo is on 4g or 3g and I mean this isn't a huge deal but I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts to why this was happening, or possibly a solution for a fix.

The xbox is wired to the router if that helps at all.
    The xbox has a static ip address and it's different than the Evo's.

Thanks a ton.

Advertisement
  2. LiquidLife

LiquidLife Well-Known Member

I'm a network engineer, and I can tell you right now that from the information you are providing that it sounds like you have a crappy router...

Try reseting your routers configuration to the default, and use all DHCP, see if that helps... you don't need to use static IPs.

If you get a chance get Linksys, which is part of Cisco Systems.

3. bestphonever

bestphonever Active Member This Topic's Starter

I'll try the factory reset and see if that helps. The Airport's been running like a champ up until I got the evo. I'll post back if the reset helps when I get a chance to do it. Thanks a lot for the help. Much appreciated.

Like I said it wasnt a big deal, just a minor pain in the rear..

4. eieio

eieio Well-Known Member

if the phone times out it will kill the connection. It happened to me a few times before I noticed it..

5. squeakr

squeakr Member