Evo audio quality on video recordingsSupport

Last Updated:

1. mobilebd

mobilebd New Member This Topic's Starter

Hey guys, ultimate noob here. I've been trying to digest every possible piece of information I can on the Evo, and have been very anxious to get one on June 4th. But something I'm finding very little info or comments on is how terrible the audio quality is on video recordings. It's surprisingly very bad. The video quality is looking good, but that makes the bad audio just that much worse. I've noticed this on every sample video I've checked out on You Tube. It seems that it is slightly better on the Incredible, but still pretty sub-par. If you watch video recorded from the Motorola Droid or iPhone, you can hear what a difference it is. Is this just a HTC thing, or is it something that can be adjusted? Is anyone else noticing this?

Advertisement
  2. SprintFun

SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

At launch we'll have a Tips & Tricks forum, and hopefully some people will be able to dive into the camera/video settings and maximize what they can do.

However, I think it's important to remember this is a phone afterall and the video nor audio quality is not going to awe inspiring.

3. ragingsamster_old

ragingsamster_old Member

HTC decided that adding a Shure SM58 might make the phone too ungainly. :D

It is a phone, but I'm sure that someone will come up with a windsock mod at least to tame the wind noise evident in most of the recordings I've heard

4. mobilebd

mobilebd New Member This Topic's Starter

Thanks for the responses.

I agree with the statement that it is a phone, but I think we've definitely reached the point where the phone aspect of these devices is becoming secondary. Also, we are somewhat sacrificing portability in exchange for it being a "multimedia powerhouse". So with that I would expect the multimedia aspects to be a highlight of the Evo.