Evo doesn't need root...?


Last Updated:

  1. Android Walks

    Android Walks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    From the specs/details/videos given, it looks like the Evo won't need root for any further improvement...
     

    Advertisement
  2. TheBlackPrince

    TheBlackPrince Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    30
    The only reasons I can see to root is if they take too long updating it to Froyo (assuming it doesn't ship with it of course)
     
  3. SprintFun

    SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    I think some of the more powerful apps require root access...
     
  4. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    To change ROMs no root is required, so installing Froyo would not require root.

    Very few apps require root anymore this was true back in 1.5 and 1.6 but that's a thing of the past. Some apps still do but the list gets smaller and smaller everyday. People tend to compare rooting to jailbreaking an iphone, this couldn't be further from the truth. Anyone who's worked with a Linux distro would tell you exactly what obtaining root is.
     
  5. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    24
    I love Linux and the vast array of distro's out there...I'm currently running Ubuntu Ultimate and have played with several other distros. Anyhow, I'm new to the Android world and was also wondering if rooting the EVO would be really necessary. Some of the research I've found indicates in most cases, users root their device to remove the Sense UI (which looks awesome...to each its own), for custom ROM's that are kind of like distro's and for apps that require it. I love to tinker with devices (I do it with my Blackberry 8900 and I did it with my HTC Wizard), but from what I'm seeing with the Incredible, it looks like the EVO will be better left as is...outside of minor personal touches. And with with 2.2 coming soon, I'm not sure if it would be worth the time to do so.

    On a side note, I've got to say how this forum as been a great place for people like myself who are new to the Android world. Even though I don't have an Android device yet, I am impressed (but not surprised) at how good it is. This forum provides a ton of knowledge and has people that take the time to explain how to install just about anything and make it work...and fix something that is broken. Keep up the good work.
     
  6. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Android is a simplified GUI based Linux distro, all you're doing when you root is obtaining su access via a bash prompt. Rooting was key back in 1.5 and 1.6 to do many things, since then the process has been simplified and you don't really need to root your phone to do anything. Besides obtaining root on an Android phone opens you up to all sorts of unnecessary security exploits if someone really wanted to attack you.
     
    sag7392 likes this.
  7. Varick

    Varick New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    For me, the most compelling reason to root is for tether options.

    See: How to Tether Your Android Phone | Smarterware
     
  8. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
  9. Varick

    Varick New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    True, though you need the paid version for anything https: related such as online banking.

    Either way you accomplish it, assuming the Evo hotspot capability is cheap (say $10/month) that's something I'm willing to pay. Much more than that and I'll just root and diy.
     
  10. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thanks LatinP...based on what I saw, kind of did look like a simplified GUI based Linux distro. So there is no real difference in rooting your device and trying to root your desktop/laptop...which from what I know is not a good idea...which is why in the Ubuntu forums, they prohibit telling users how to do it. Which protects users from themselves and the outside world.
     
  11. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    If you root your phone last thing I'd be doing is typing in online bank information on your phone, but it's your phone I won't tell you how to use it. :)

    As far as installing custom ROMs replacing launcher apps or deleting Sense UI you can do all of that without the need of rooting.
     
    sag7392 likes this.
  12. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Just for the record PDANet is a ONE time fee of $23.95 for a lifetime key. Also if you choose to not buy it it's absolutely free as long as you don't use port 443, so essentially it is free and you will be able to receive updates whether you're a paid customer or not.
     
  13. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    Yeah, I would rather root my phone and set up tethering or install PDANet which has worked for me on other devices in the past. Since I use tethering maybe 5 or 6 times a year it's not worth a monthly fee for me but I don't mine a DIY solution or a one-time cost for an established product.
     
  14. Berner

    Berner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    112
    Don't you need root to underclock (or overclock)? I can see wanting to use situational underclocking to help battery life.
     
  15. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    I plan on using it to do a wireless hotspot w/o paying the middle man.
     
  16. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Rooting your phone won't help you with that. The 4G hotspot is controlled by an app built specifically for Sprint into the Evo 4G. You can tether but definitely won't be using the hotspot feature for free just because you rooted your phone.

    Technically yes, but why would you want to gimp your phone and in the process make it less secure for the simply purpose of getting maybe 1-2hrs more of battery life? A much more practical solution would be to get an extended battery.
     
  17. hitekalex

    hitekalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    18
    Stop spreading FUD. Rooting an Android phone doesn't make it "insecure", if you know what you're doing. Rooted Android phone is certainly no less secure than your Mac or Windows laptop, which is technically "rooted" out of the box.
     
  18. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189
    Well, I'm glad we have an expert here who knows everything about an unreleased phone using an unreleased program, and what you can and cannot do with them - rooting or not.
     
  19. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    LoL, dont go getting a ticket to banlandia now ;)
     
  20. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Don't need to be an expert, watch the live presentation where it shows you on video how the darn thing is controlled by an app, unless you magically acquire the source code and alter it how the heck would you work around it? I don't see how changing your phone's user permissions is going to get around the callback that app makes back to Sprint, or did you think they didn't think about all this before installing this feature.Relax twinkletoes.
     
    wndrshwzn likes this.
  21. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    explain what the difference is between tethering and acting as a hotspot then.
     
  22. polkadots

    polkadots Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    189
    Pffft. I'm not changing my ways. If they ban me for calling someone out who is spouting off info that they treat as fact, when it isn't...well, then so be it. I'll deal.

    You realize that there are folks out there (XDA, lookin' at you!) that can and will write programs and ways around this...right? That whatever Sprint does to lock down a phone will be undone or worked around by the good folks on the net? It's cool that you want to have your opinion - you're welcome to it. But please, spare us the bull by acting like you're the definitive source on something when you couldn't possibly know - none of us could know.
     
    IOWA, mrk, cloud858rk and 1 other person like this.
  23. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Gee.. I guess you know everything ?

    The dangers of rooting your Android phone – Android and Me

    Google fixes Android root-access flaw - Security - News
    ^ They fixed this one dozens more exist.

    Really Windows and Macs are rooted out of the box, really?
    By definition: setuid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    Additional information:

    To root a Mac Unix OS you'd have to go through 10 steps, not exactly out of the box:

    1. From the Apple menu choose System Preferences....
    2. From the View menu choose Accounts.
    3. Click on the lock and authenticate with an administrator account.
    4. Click Login Options....
    5. Click the "Edit..." or "Join..." button at the bottom right.
    6. Click the "Open Directory Utility..." button.
    7. Click the lock in the Directory Utility window.
    8. Enter an administrator account name and password, then click OK.
    9. Choose Enable Root User from the Edit menu.
    10. Enter the root password you wish to use in both the Password and Verify fields, then click OK.


    To realistically root Windows you'd have to do a little more than just disable UAC:

    Go to regedit:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System
    3.  
    Locate the following REG_DWORD value:
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. EnableLUA
    3.  
    Set the value of EnableLUA to 0.

    Optional step to suppress UAC consent prompt dialog, locate the
    following REG_DWORD value:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin
    3.  
    Set the value of ConsentPromptBehaviorAdmin to 0 (optional).
    Exit from Registry Editor and restart the computer to turn off UAC.


    Another option would be to turn off the UAC usergroup policy, but as far as out the box, no sir you are wrong.

    PS: You also said "if you know what you're doing" 90% of Android users DON'T KNOW what they're doing, so why recommend something to someone who really has no idea what they're doing?
     
    wndrshwzn likes this.
  24. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    LOL

    You dont by chance own a mac, do you?

    If it can be encrypt, it can be decrypted.

    Rooting with common sense, will not make your more open to attacks.

    Being stupid enough to think you are 100% safe all the time, will get you hacked.

    90% of all the people should not have a reason to root. The other 10% can and will. No point in arguing.

    Wireless tethering will not need root. Even if you work around the charge.

    Tethering with 4g should be free.
     
  25. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Tethering with 4g probably will be free, using the phone's built in router and accessing this feature via root is un-realistic. And no I don't use Macs, at home I'm either on a Linux server or Windows 7 (yes, I said Windows 7). At work we still use Windows xp in a workstation environment, that's mainly due to them not upgrading their systems in almost a decade. Honestly not a big Mac fan either, but that's my opinion.
     

Share This Page

Loading...