Evo downloading massive amounts of data


Last Updated:

  1. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a strange problem, in a week of having the phone, I have used 900+ mb and was clueless how I was using this much data, I occasionally use Pandora and the internet and text, but no where near 900 mb worth. So today at work, I noticed that my phone was downloading in the background via the system panel app and an ATK kill all open apps has not stopped the data, it will continue to download. THe only thing that makes it stop is to restart the phone or end all processes in the system panel app.
    The active apps in system panel are Handcent, HTC IQ agent, HTC sense, Messages, system panel, touch panel and voicemail. Any help would be appreciated!
    EDIT, oh and i did unchecked the enable always on data
     

    Advertisement
  2. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    settings>accounts and sync> and stop background data
     
  3. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the quick reply, I will give that a try!
     
  4. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    you can also change how often everything updates if you dont want to turn off background data
     
  5. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright, its back to downloading at 250 Kbps and I unchecked accounts....
    and i know its not accounts and sync, because when I kill the process, the download continues. any more ideas?
     
  6. jkr4577

    jkr4577 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    13
    are you doing this for battery concerns? You know you have unlimited data. Did you get the 900MB figure from your sprint account?
     
  7. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, when it is downloading in the background, it destroys my battery life, its not the amount of data, its the load its putting on my phone, it causes the phone to occasionally over heat and restart
     
  8. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    nooooo....not through atk....on the phone go to settings> accounts and sync then uncheck background data
     
  9. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have, I meant to say, when the something is downloading, an atk kill all does not stop the download. I had the accounts un checked and it would still download.
     
  10. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    did u stop ALL background data
     
  11. Fighton

    Fighton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem but I used 1.5GB in a week and didn't use pandora once. I fixed the problem by doing 2 things in conjucntion so i dont know which one worked.
    First i followed the instructions in the first post of the following link: [How-To] Better battery life, reduce Time Without Signal. - xda-developers

    Then i did a hard reset. settings>>>privacy>>>factory reset
     
  12. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I unchecked 'Background Data' on the top of the accounts & sync portion of the menue, also, this makes it tough to go in the market because it needs it to operate so I am thinking that it is not this, because why would I have to re enable it to get to the market?
     
  13. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    the market doesnt need background data...the background data box stop apps in the background or while your phone is sleep to access data
     
  14. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Direct quote when trying to open market.
    " Background data disabled. Market needs background data to be enabled"
    options, enable or quit
     
  15. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    I had a similar issue where it seemed my phone was being woken up for data purposes often so I did a hard reset and it is all good now
     
  16. THEFORCE

    THEFORCE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    198
    ok i just tested and you are right...the only thing i can think of now is a hard reset, but idk if u want to go that far
     
  17. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    I had this same exact problem. I had read this fix else where, and it worked for me. Check your gmail app, and see how many accounts is syncing. There seems to be an issue with the evo and syncing more than one gmail account at the same time. For me, it the background data use stopped as soon as I set my secondary google account to not sync. Try it out.
     
  18. andrew12090

    andrew12090 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the ideas if they don't work, I will do a hard reset
     

Share This Page

Loading...