EVO HDMI, Mac and Android ....

Last Updated:

1. bhagiratha

bhagiratha Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

May 14, 2010
    I recently acquired a new i7 27" iMac and I am worried that I would not be able to use the HDMI feature on the EVO 4G, since the imac doesn't have an HDMI port.

I am also concerned about android, since I was using an iphone before and had no problems syncing data.

I have never used an Android phone before and the EVO will be my first.
    would the experience being a mac user be pleasant or will I be running into problems?

2. nethed

nethed Member

May 20, 2010
    HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) is mainly for Video/Audio transmission. Your new i7 27" iMac does not have a HDMI interface, but it does have a mini-display port interface. I believe on the 27" iMacs, you can use the mini-display port as monitor IN port.

Usually, the Mini-display port is used to feed video data OUT to an external monitor. Apple made available the option of using your iMac as a big monitor with the mini-display port.

However, the EVO has a regular-old USB port also. You can sync un-DRMed music/videos from your mac using DoubleTwist.
  3. reallynotnick

reallynotnick Well-Known Member

Mar 19, 2010
    I can't really think of a situation you would want to connect the EVO to your iMac with HDMI considering basically everything on your EVO is from your computer.
  4. SprintFun

SprintFun VIP Member VIP Member

Mar 31, 2010

USB (which your mac certainly has) is used to sync data to and from your Evo, which is what you sound like you are wanting to do. The Evo will come with the appropriate USB cable and you'll be good to go.

HDMI is used primarily to hook your Evo up to a TV, just as a way to display things on it on a bigger screen. This cable is an extra that you have to buy through Sprint (most likely for now).
  5. ashykat

ashykat Well-Known Member

Apr 27, 2009