EVO running slowSupport


Last Updated:

  1. redDKtie

    redDKtie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my first android phone. My HTC EVO. I love it. But recently its been running extremely slow. It takes about 2 seconds for an icon to even highlight when i tap it. then another 2 second to open the app. Now, I'm new to Android, and I got an app killer, and I leave 4g and wifi off.. my friend suggested I take out the battery to reset the system. And now its working fine, but I'm dreading the next time it gets slow. What is going on with my phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    This question and the amount of background info you have provided is the equivalent to one drop of water in the entire Pacific Ocean.

    There's lots and lots and lots of things that could be going on. But for starters let me recommend two things.

    1. do a battery pull at least once every three days. It's good the let the memory clear.
    2. DELETE YOUR TASK KILLER FOR THE LOVE OF GOD.

    Then spend some more time with your phone. In a couple of weeks you will become more familiar, keep reading threads here on the forum and when you become more knowledgeable, come back and give us more details and include info about tweaks and things you have done. Thanks.
     
  3. asaberan

    asaberan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    33
    In my opinion there is no reason to pull the battery as frequently as every three days. I have no idea where that information came from, but that is unnecessary, even on a Windows Mobile phone! You should be able to easily go a couple of weeks without a battery pull, provided you don't have a rogue app or something and your phone is working properly.

    I completely agree with getting rid of your task killer though. Unnecessary with Froyo.

    These are like computers, it isn't uncommon to have to restart it occasionally. When it gets slow, just restart it, simple as that. No need to worry about it.
     
  4. EVOid

    EVOid Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I got my EVO it was BLINDINGLY FAST! After I loaded it up with stuff (apps) and used it for a few weeks it slowed down tremendously to the point, I'm afraid to say, where it reminded me of the dreaded Palm Pre which always froze.

    Actions taken to fix: Cache dumps, Erased all but maybe 5 apps, restart every damn day, battery pull at least once a day (cause my battery dies)

    Result: still slow as hell, i'm pissed! (and now I don't have a nice app selection)
     
  5. redDKtie

    redDKtie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I uninstalled advanced task killer pro. When i remove the battery it runs fast for a while, but it seems like I'm resting it every 3 days. And now as i type this on my phone my keyboard is acting extremely twitch and slow. Quite annoying.
    Also. I noticed massive slow down whenever i activate 4g. Which i Started using often.

    Again, all these issues seem to disappear when doing a hard reset. But lasts less than 3 days.

    Update: I did a hard reset with 4g on. and it seems to be running fine. But not quite up to snuff still.

    Update: reset again, this time with 4g off and now it runs very smooth. Which I believe confirms that the issue is with 4g somehow. Anyone care to speculate?
     
  6. redDKtie

    redDKtie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found this thread
    androidforums.com/evo-4g-support-troubleshooting/167526-using-4g-slows-down-my-evo.html

    Really? The solution is DON'T USE 4G?
    Wow. HTC is gonna hear from me.
     
  7. Barats

    Barats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yeah this is pretty stupid. We pay $10 extra a month for this feature whether or not we are even remotely close to a 4G coverage area and now it's suggested we do not use this because it slows down our phone? LOL. What a joke.

    I use 4G every now and then and I do not see a huge slow down. But usually hop on 4G if I'm going to download something or watch a lot on Youtube so I really don't use my phone normally. I will definitely try next time and see if I see my phone bog down.
     
  8. redDKtie

    redDKtie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    sooo... i turned 4g on yesterday, and my phone is working perfectly... im afraid to turn it off.
     
  9. AppointedSole

    AppointedSole Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad to see I am not the only one experiencing the problem. Well, not glad, but interesting to see that the problem is a lot more widespread.

    I've recently been leaving 4G on more often as I am noticing 4G service pop-up in my area more than ever before. When it connects to a 4G network, I experience incredible amounts of lag/sluggishness.

    When I leave the 4G area, my Evo still runs sluggish. My "fix" is to either restart the phone entirely or run an application like Fast Reboot that is similar to a task killer. I'm not a fan of task killers, but using Fast Reboot brings the phone back to speed faster than a full reboot.

    The ordeal is quite frustrating and I am surprised that it has not been addressed or at least acknowledged by HTC or Sprint.
     
  10. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    There are definitely multiple threads on the issue. There are several supposed fixes but they are all debated. Some of us use the settings method for turning 4g on and off and don't have issues, others use toggles from the market, and then some rooted users have used a rom with the leaked HTC update and noticed the issue went away. I was in 4 g tonight and had no issues. (using a new OTA rom)
     
  11. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    323
    Is this the same leaked ROM Vincent Law is using? Or did you get an official OTA from HTC?
     
  12. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Fresh ROM...no idea what Vincent is using but I believe they are both based on the 3.30 blah blah blah leaked update

    I stopped having issues when I started using that 4g toggle in the market and or settings tho so I don't know what fixed it...just that I had the issue and now haven't had any issues. I read that you still have the issue even if you use the settings but so many have posted (including me) that they no longer see the issue when they do it that way
     
  13. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    323
    I think I shall break down and perform a factory reset. I really didn't want to do that though.
     
  14. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Did you root yet?
     
  15. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    323
    Not yet. I don't want to take full responsibility for my phone yet. If HTC/Sprint don't fix this soon, I'll probably root and get on the ROMs that don't have 4G issues.

    But first, I will factory reset, and go along with protocol. I called HTC a few weeks ago. The lady told me that this wasn't a known issue, and that some app must be causing this problem. She suggested that I uninstall all my apps and then add them back one at a time until I find the one that causes the failure.

    My plan is to factory reset, and add ONLY one or two CPU monitoring apps (perhaps Launcher Pro as I got that weeks after my problems started)...then enable 4G until it happens again.

    Only then, can I call them back and say: "This didn't work, what's the next thig I can try?"

    Of all the people who are affected by this, has anyone bothered to call HTC about it? What about Sprint? Also, who would bring resolution faster to this, Sprint, or HTC?

    I'll probably root if there is no OTA that fixes this by year's end.
     
  16. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    I have a few things I need to call sprint and htc about but haven't made the time. Between a wreck, weddings, a death, a little of work mixed in and other obligations I just haven't been able to do so. :(
     
  17. thunder18

    thunder18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Glad I found this thread! I've recently noticed the same problem with regards to the the 4g causing the phone to lag.
    Good news is, thanks to this thread, I have been able to confirm that after removing the 4g toggle from my homescreen and activating 4g via the menu->wireless settings, my CPU usage remains low, idle is high(as it should be), and the phone is not experiencing any of the previous slowness. Perhaps a easier work around is to add a shortcut to wireless settings in the place of the 4g toggle.
     
  18. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    you can even use folder organizer light and give it a custom icon
     
    thunder18 likes this.
  19. nonprofittech

    nonprofittech New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that turning on 4G would slow all other phone functions down. The 4G speeds were fine. But if I tried to use any apps while 4G was on, they would be very slow. Since 4G was turned on here in MN (end of Sept. this year) I have used a homescreen widget to enable/disable 4G.

    After reading this thread, I tried using menu-->settings to enable 4G and was surprised to see that the phone continued to work normally. I monitored the CPU for a good while and found that CPU usage remained at a reasonable level.

    So, no more widget.
    Thanks for the good discussion
     
  20. e_vision

    e_vision New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also had issues with OS lag on my EVO. I have stopped using 4G and have stopped using Task Killers, since they don't seem to work and most people think they are evil.

    Trying a battery pull tonight, which I hope fixes the issue but it scares me. My last device was a Palm Pre and I used to pull battery every other day due to OS lags and system slow performance. I really, really don't want to start that dance of shame again.

    I know it's asking a lot, but I just want my device to work the way it's supposed to. The fact that I try to open an app and have to wait 3 seconds for it to actually acknowledge that I tapped it really sucks.

    Oh, and I can't do OTA firmware updates. It stays on the 'Checking for firmware updates" screen and never does anything.
     
  21. sebast1an09

    sebast1an09 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem when I tried to update. After you remove your battery and reboot your phone, try doing the update and it should update at a decent speed.
     
  22. thunder18

    thunder18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, I have to admit that not using the 4g widget has stopped working for me so that is now a dead end as far as I'm concerned. Considering rooting just to back up my current configuration, then un-rooting and doing a factory reset before calling Sprint/HTC and spending some quality time with their respective tech supports.
     
  23. thunder18

    thunder18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    15
    Updated to the newest release on Wednesday and tried 4g again on Thursday and it did not cause my phone to run slowly. Anyone else notice if 4g is working correctly again? I even put the 4g widget back one the homescreen and activated it multiple time just to make sure it wasn't a fluke.
     
  24. drumshark

    drumshark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ya. The second i hit the 4g toggle (i live right on the edge on a 4g area, and sometimes get signal) the phone slows down... Ya. That's what we're paying 10$ a month for.
     
  25. Tempusfugit

    Tempusfugit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    74
    or you could read the thread and stop using the toggle...
     

Share This Page

Loading...