EvO's alarm clockSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've been having a little problem with the alarm on my EVO. I have an alarm set for early a.m. Usually I don't wake up from the sound of the alarm until it's been going off for about 3 minutes or so (I'm a heavy sleeper) So here is my problem: I wake up with the buzz of the alarm going off but I can find no way to disable the sound. I go into the clock menus and I can find nothing. I usually have to shut the phone off which makes no sense to me... How do I disable the alarm after it's been sounding for 3 minutes?


    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Brian360

    Brian360 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35
    "dismiss"

    ?? When my alarm comes up an option comes up to "Snooze or Dismiss"
     
  3. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    when my Evo's alarm actually works, it says on the screen to slide down to end, or up to snooze.

    But lately my alarms do not even go off, I think I am killing the alarm system when I reboot my phone and cannot figure out what I am killing that is causing the alarms to not sound...


    ***Update***

    HA! forgot I did a Hard Reset yesterday, and never turned the alarms back on....
     
  4. Brian360

    Brian360 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35

    Doh! Be sure to ignore it from any task killer list too. I found that out the hard way.
     
    kaisies likes this.
  5. becker163

    becker163 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. I never consider ingnoring it in app killer as it shows active in the tool/task bar at the top of the screen. do you really have to ignore it? I guess I will try that!
     
  6. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm having the same problem, too. I'm going to buy an alarm clock to solve the problem, though. Really. I'll just use this while camping or something. It's just not suited to be my primary alarm clock, but I don't really care. That is far from "deal breaker" for me.
     
  7. akh217

    akh217 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't like the built in alarm clock so I downloaded Alarm Klock from the market. It's free and works well, imo.
     
  8. Brian360

    Brian360 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    35

    Yes! If you don't ignore it, appkiller will kill it. Ask me how I know.
     
  9. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Get Digital Clock from the market. Works everytime and is very customizable.
     
  10. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16


    That part my phone does fine,...but if you set an alarm and let it go off for about three minutes or so there is no way to disable it. Find a way if you can.
     
  11. Jonhern

    Jonhern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yeah i have a similar problem, when it first comes up it says snooze or dismiss, if i hit snooze, that dialog box does not come up again the second time and it just keeps on ringing until i completely shut off the phone. I just don't hit snooze anymore, lol.
     
  12. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16


    Ah,...ok....I'll check this out in the morning. LOL!



    Just looked into this one,...and the only thing that would render this unusable for me is the fact that I cannot set up multiple alarms or set it to automatically reoccur.





    And finally if I do feel the need to snooze I'll have to open up a task killer and shut it down that way. I had actually thought of this today. LOL
     
  13. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    Well the stock clock woke me just fine this morning, since I set up again! I never snooze, the snooze time is too short! I just set two alarms...


    [​IMG]


    Now a question, anyone know how I can make this picture smaller? Will it take html code?

    Also, battery is at 51% at this time because I no longer charge my phone at night, go read the battery threads for more info.
     
  14. lousyskater

    lousyskater Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    My EVO works fine as an alarm clock. I loaded up my own custom songs to wake up to instead of the stock alarms. Also, my EVO is insanely load when it goes off so it wakes me up every time.
     
  15. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Where do you put the music so that it shows up in the alarms list? I haven't figured it out for alarms....ringer and notifications were easy..
     
  16. JunBringer

    JunBringer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3,186
    Likes Received:
    337
    Probably in the ringtones folder.

    I use mine and it hasn't let me down yet. Thank God cause I've had some latenesses to work due to faulty alarms.
     
  17. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Nope.....the HTC alarm sounds are not in the ringtone nor notification folders. Adding sound files to either corresponding file allows them to show in the HTC menu for ringtone or notifications...but not alarms
     
  18. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    I had this happen to me once. I *think* - but have not reproduced the problem to be certain - that what is happening is that some other application (the home screen or something else) is in the foreground and hiding the alarm clock notification. Try doing a long press of the Home button to bring up the list of the last six apps. My guess is that the Alarm Clock will be one of them and you can bring it back to the foreground.
     
  19. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Figured it out....if you delete the default settings for htcringerpickeractivity. It then gives you a choice of HTC pickers or music file, and music file gives you the option of any sound file on the phone or card
     
  20. lousyskater

    lousyskater Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    There's an app called Ringdroid that I use to make custom ringtones out of songs that I load onto my EVO.
     
  21. ougijoe

    ougijoe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bumping a ridiculously old thread, I know... but I'm having the 'no way to turn alarm off' problem.

    Anyone ever find a solution to the stock clock, or am I going to need to download an app?
     
  22. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    HA! I am still subscribed to this thread...

    anyway, nope, never had the problem, sorry. Are you using the stock rom? have you done the new update from last weekend?
     
  23. Upright

    Upright Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    16
    The only work around that I've been able to find is to open the timer and set it to 0 hours 0 minutes 0 seconds and start the timer which will immediately start the an alarm sound at this point you can press dismiss and it should stop both the alarms...this works about 95% of the time. Hope this helps,... Let me know if it works for you.
     
  24. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Did any of you guys happen to remove the sense lock screen (and replace it with the AOSP one)? That will most definitely cause this to happen. I've never heard of it just happening out of the blue, though.
     
  25. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    old versions of widget locker and other lockscreen mods will also cause issues ...but I mean like 4 months, 6 revisions ago old
     

Share This Page

Loading...