Exchange Active Sync IssuesGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. arZan

    arZan New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a client who connects to a Windows SBS 2003 Server using Exchange Active Sync on an HTC Droid Eris with Verizon. The phone is completely original with no mods

    The server had a major crash last week and was rebuilt on the weekend. The EAS worked till last week but now it does not.

    All the information is entered in manual mode and then it goes to the screen where it asks what needs to be synced and after you hit OK....it says "Failed to Connect......try later".

    I read somewhere on this forum that a device wipeout would solve the problem. However is there a way to just wipeout the data for the EAS app. I deleted the account off the phone (i think) but then when I try to set it up again, it remembers the email ID etc.....so there is some data that has not been wiped out.

    What are my options here. Is a full wipeout the only option. The user rather not do that because of too many apps/data/pics et al on the device.
     

    Advertisement
  2. arZan

    arZan New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. mgrassi99

    mgrassi99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're not the only one. I work at a large company where a lot of people use iPhones and Androids. They upgraded the Exchange servers a few weeks ago and are dogfooding SP1 - after a few days of lousy connectivity, everyone BUT people with HTC Androids were able to reconnect. iPhones are OK, Moto Droids seem to be OK, but HTC's are getting the same error you mention. I'm hoping the update Verizon is about to push fixes it, but if not I may have to switch to a Moto.
     
  4. arZan

    arZan New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The previous server installation probably was not full updated with the zillions of Service Packs and other Microsoft updates. However this one is, every single one of them. Probably something to do with that ?

    I am pretty stumped by this. And dont see an option out unless the user connects to email via IMAP for now
     
  5. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Try Touchdown in the Market. Free for 5 days then $20. Just use it for testing to show yourself it's not Android but the shitty HTC Exchange app. I bit the bullet and have not looked back. If TD doesn't work then something is up with the EAS policy.
     
  6. mgrassi99

    mgrassi99 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, Touchdown works here, I just don't like the interface and preferred the integrated HTC stuff. It has to do with the self-signed certificate that EAS is pushing now, which Touchdown is smart enough to ignore and the HTC implementation doesn't know what to do with.
     
  7. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    I don't really mind the interface, never even noticed it. I just need my email quickly and it comes in a few seconds before OWA and about 2.5 seconds after Outlook. I don't even know what the HTC program looks like because I always needed more than one EAS account and TD was the only program I found that lets me do that. Anyway, I can understand if it bugs you.

    If you are friendly with the Exchange admin perhaps you can convince them to buy a wildcard cert. They only cost around $100 / year and you can use any prefix you like. Ive given up on self signed crap, too flaky. Not only that but the errors with Outlook 2007 and 2010 go away. (Then you can use the HTC app :)I guess the iPhone app works like TD since they don't have issues either. Someone told me that EAS was developed for Apple although I tend to believe it was more for Winmo.

    Good luck.
     
  8. jeffma

    jeffma New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was getting my email fine with houchdown until the 28th now I keep getting a "push disabled too many timeouts" error message and no email from our exchange server ...... Any ideas?
     
  9. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    support@nitrodesk.com
     

Share This Page

Loading...