Exchange ActiveSync - can't specify a port?Support


Last Updated:

  1. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All - I'm trialing CommonTime's mNotes to connect to Lotus Domino/Notes at work. In the instructions, I have to use the following Exchange Server:

    csc.commontime.com:1700

    I need to specify port 1700 at the end.

    The problem I have is that the Droid disables the "next" button once I put the ":" in.

    Any ideas?
     

    Advertisement
  2. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump.. anyone?
     
  3. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    I haven't heard of CommonTime's mNotes, so I checked out their web site. It says specifically they support Android, but does not mention versions. It is possible they need an update to support the new features in Android 2.0.

    Having said that, I would expect the Exchange setup to be straight-forward, which normally does not use odd ports such as 1700. Try leaving off the :1700 and see if a port option comes up.
     
  4. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.. I tried leaving the port off and it would not connect.

    Wonder why they are using 1700??
     
  5. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    It is odd that they are using that one. I couldn't go further into their support without having an account. Were you able to find anything more on it?
     
  6. kunfusion

    kunfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem; I opened up a support ticket with Commontime to resolve.
     
  7. rbishop

    rbishop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same problem. With my company's setup, I am required to put in port 8080. My iPod touch does fine when I type server.webpage.com:8080, however my Droid hates it the minute I add the colon in the server address. This happens even in the built-in Corporate Calendar feature of Android 2.0. I hope an update is coming as it seems to be on the base of the software.
     
  8. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.. I did too over the weekend and heard back from them early Monday morning that they have confirmed it's an issue and they know how to fix it. They are working on the fix and will email when they have a new version ready.
     
  9. kunfusion

    kunfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you able to use any other software in the meantime, waiting for the Commontime fix? i.e Touchdown?

    I'm trying to configure Touchdown to use the Commontime Exchange Adapter and it "works" up until I see this in the log file:

    2009-11-10 07:49:07.432 warn Session: [3] Cannot provision device: Could not find policy for user

    Wondering if maybe you've encountered and/or resolved this. Without Notes sync, this device is pretty much useless to me.
     
  10. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    No.. I did not try configuring CommonTime in TouchDown. Since my company runs Lotus Notes Traveler 8.5.1 I can access Lotus' version of Exchange Active Sync which DOES work with Touchdown. Sorry.
     
  11. kunfusion

    kunfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    For whatever reason after a few restarts of the Commontime services and the device, I now have it working somewhat with Touchdown through the Commontime Exchange Adapter. All my mail disappeared from the device, not sure what that's about yet but I've got tasks, calendar, and contacts.

    I got a response from Commontime that said if all things go well, they'll have a fix in the 7-9 day range, so I'm encouraged.
     
  12. JT3

    JT3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I received the following after detailing the issue as well.

    Thanks for your patience on this issue. You're right, some of the new Droid phones do not allow you to type in the : and port (1700). Because of this, we are configuring the CommonTime Switching Center to allow traffic from port 80 and 443. The Droid phones that do not allow you to type in a port try to connect on port 80 and 443 by default. This change will not be fully implemented until late next week. Please try to connect next week with your Droid by not entering anything after csc.commontime.com. Send me an email if this does not work.
     
  13. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you for this! I am glad to hear they are able to implement a fix/workaround right away.
     
  14. edgarloxton

    edgarloxton Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    @kunfusion, I got to the same place as you. Please let me know when mNotes fix is available so that I can download.
     
  15. dshay

    dshay Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    12
    Anybody get any word back from Commontime? I've tried just re-doing the setup with csc.commontime.com without the 1700 a few times this week but no luck yet.
     
  16. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been doing the same with no luck.

    I have high hopes for CommonTime but my experience with them so far is they are pretty uncommunicative.
     
  17. JT3

    JT3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not working for me either yet. I'll have to followup on the reply I got back and see if they have any info. If its not working by the time the "trial" period is up i'll look elsewhere.
     
  18. HollyHayley

    HollyHayley Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi borderless - seems there is a delay in the fixes coming online for the Droid I am afraid. Latest info I have is this week and as soon as I have more specific info I will post and let everyone know. Obviously as each phone changes the OS slightly it is almost a case of a new solution build for each new device release and that is difficult to estimate timings for. Maybe we were too optimistic :D! As soon as I know, you will know...
     
  19. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Holly.. it's very much appreciated that you respond so quickly in these forums. It truly helps even if you don't have concrete info to share.
     
  20. borderless

    borderless Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Holly - any news you can share?
     
  21. JT3

    JT3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just sent a note to tech support again as my software demo runs out on Dec 7th and so far I haven't demoed anything.
     
  22. kunfusion

    kunfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good luck... I've followed up twice to get status updates and no answer. I've been a customer for a few years and its never been this unresponsive.

    I do have a somewhat workable solution with Touchdown through the CSC exchange adapter, though.
     
  23. HollyHayley

    HollyHayley Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Borderless - I am so sorry. I have not been around on the forum for too long. So sorry to delay getting back to you. I understand the wait for this software update is frustrating and it has a taken a lot longer than anyone anticipated I think. Support for Droid will definately be shipped next week (although possibly tomorrow). Anyone who's trial has lapsed I am pretty sure can sign up for another - it's just after multiples we don't like it! :D

    The great news is the this next release (for both the CommonTime mNotes Wireless and enterprise mSuite software) adds Droid support, plus support for Acer Liquid (released in UK only for now yesterday), Droid Eris and Motorola Cliq. From all the work that has been done this time (and the time it has taken :() it seems a lot more likely we will be able to support almost any Android device moving forward. So, this release has taken a long time, but I hope it is giving people a lot more!

    Any problems or questions, please get in touch :)

    PLEASE NOTE DROID SUPPORT OFFICIALLY DELAYED (but we hope not for long ;-) ) Should be soon after the holidays. We won't say it is supported until it is perfect, but if some of you can get it to work - fab!
     
  24. HollyHayley

    HollyHayley Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi JT3 - hope you have seen my note to Borderless about mNotes Droid support. You can sign up for another free trial no problem if your previous trial has lapsed in the long wait for this update :(. You can certainly do 2 mNotes trials, if not 3 I think. I would wait and download the new mNotes release next week -it will be version5.11 as it will definately be available then.
     
  25. kunfusion

    kunfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a notice that mNotes 5.11 with Droid support is available today. I'm downloading it now; I'll post back if I can verify it resolves current issues.
     

Share This Page

Loading...