Exchange - phone unlock shows password


Last Updated:

  1. mrbofus

    mrbofus Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an Exchange account that requires a password; with the newest firmware update as of June 29, that works fine. However, when I input my password on the unlock screen, it shows it in plaintext and doesn't mask it as I enter each letter as most phones do. Under the Security settings, I do not have "Visible passwords" checked, so the password shouldn't show, but it does.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, thank you!
     

    Advertisement
  2. nRRe

    nRRe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    10
    close the keyboard when you goto type it. might be a checkbox under the keyboard you can't see that says "show password"
     
  3. mrbofus

    mrbofus Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Unfortunately, on the phone unlock screen, the two buttons are "Emergency call" and "Unlock"; there are no options to hide the password.
     
  4. ldbobby

    ldbobby New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm seeing the exact same problem... I think this might be a bug.
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Is this the exchange security password and NOT the password for the exchange email account password??? If this is what I think it is, you can have them as 2 separate passwords or "bypass" the unlock password with lockpicker from the market.

    If this isn't what you are referring to, I'm not sure what you mean.
     
  6. ldbobby

    ldbobby New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is what I'm referring to Kelmar, but that just hides the issue. It is definately a nice app as I hate entering my pass every time I unlock my phone. But I don't want to be the one responsible for losing any company information should I lose my phone. Thanks though!
     
  7. st0921

    st0921 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I replaced my Exchange password with the Pattern lock using lockpicker.

    download lockpicker (do not activate) > remove Exchange account > set up pattern lock (in setting) > add Exchange account > activate lockpicker

    now you don't have to worry about ur password being shown...
     

Share This Page

Loading...