Exchange push isn't working


Last Updated:

  1. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Got my Desire hooked up to Exchange without problems and it all works, with the exception of push emails. Basically new emails only arrive when the phone initiates a sync.

    I have the relevant options enabled on the server and can't see anything related to push on the handset so I'm a bit lost as to why this doesn't work.

    Anyone have any ideas?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. hot-fuzz

    hot-fuzz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    You sort mentioned it. Have you got email retrieval frequency set to "PUSH" ?
     
  3. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    It doesn't default to Push sync when you set it up, its set to sync every 15 minutes or so - you're sure you set it to Push? Its working fine for me...
     
  4. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    No I didn't - totally missed that option, thanks.

    Have enabled it (both off and on peak times) but alas stuff still isn't coming down to the phone when it arrives at the server :(
     
  5. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well now my Inbox has stopped synchronising altogether, even if I force it manually :(
     
  6. etherial

    etherial Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm having problems with mine too. It worked fine yesterday when I first set it up on Wifi, then I went into 3G and it wouldn't work. I couldn't get it to do anything sync wise.

    Tonight I get back to WiFi and it wouldn't work again. Did a factory reset and started again and it is working on WiFi again for a while then stopped. Pulled the battery and jus put it back in and it has come back to normal again.

    Very frustrated.
     
  7. dd1989

    dd1989 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine is working fine on Push :s
     
  8. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ok well I binned the whole account and set it up again with push enabled from the start and it seems to be working :) Will see how it goes.

    One other question - when I delete an item in my inbox, nothing happens to it on the server, it just remains in my inbox. If I move it to the Deleted Items folder then this is replicated on the server. Is anyone else seeing the same behaviour?
     
  9. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ah, this seems to work now :)
     
  10. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    You're welcome.
     
  11. keyser

    keyser New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see the option for Push?
     
  12. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    If you go into the update frequency selection and scroll up - it's just off the top of the list, so to speak. I didn't see it at first either :)
     
  13. keyser

    keyser New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird, I'm sure I tried that before. Thanks!
     
  14. Squash_man

    Squash_man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I need help here. I can't find the Push setting at all!!!! On my phone under frequency\peak times I've got the option of 5 mins then manual (so no Push).

    I'm using a hotmail account.
     
  15. dutchtrumpet

    dutchtrumpet Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Push is only available in the htc app with exchange accounts. Hotmail is not exchAnge. .
     
  16. Squash_man

    Squash_man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for that dutchtrumpet.

    Now the the next question; although my phone is set to check emails every 5 mins, it still isn't doing it :( Any reason for this?
     
  17. BadByte

    BadByte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess your phone is a buddy of my own htc desire, it too is very lazy when it comes to mail :(
     
  18. Squash_man

    Squash_man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    :( I didn't want to hear that LOL
     
  19. Squash_man

    Squash_man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I previously set the frequency at 5 mins and 1 a day off peak.

    I've just set it to 10 mins and 4 hours at off peak. Seams to be working at the moment. So I'll see how it goes for the next few days. Ok, so it's not PUSH, but it's better than not working at all!
     
  20. czm2000

    czm2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    I experienced this problem with my new Incredible a couple days ago. But ad soon as I would disconnect from WiFi my Exchange Push would immediately begin working again. Very strange.
     
  21. czm2000

    czm2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    17
    This is true. The good news is I just read an article yesterday that said in the near future Microsoft will be enabling Active Sync Exchange support for Hotmail. Pretty cool.
     
  22. BadByte

    BadByte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    After some testing I find that my desire will only check for mail once the phone is unlocked, once the screen lock is on back on it "fakes" a server error and refuses to fetch new mail. So tempted to go back to iphone, at least its exchange work when the screen lock is on.
     
  23. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    FWIW, I had some issues with Exchange sync when I first tried it. In the end I totally removed the email account from the phone and configured it again from scratch and this fixed it.
     
  24. BadByte

    BadByte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found out why my exchange push don't work right. Most of the time I'm on wifi (work & home) and it turns out wifi is done by the main cpu and only done when the screen is active so once the screen turns off so does the wifi. This would have been ok if desire had remembered to reestablish data connection via mobile network when in sleep mode. The wireless options says it can do this but it forgets to actually do it :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...