Exchanging Droid and Apps


Last Updated:

  1. tennvol

    tennvol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like mine is going back for exchange tomorrow. Once I fire up the new one and enter my gmail accounts/passwords/bookmarks will all the apps and settings be reloaded?
     

    Advertisement
  2. blazingwolf

    blazingwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    1
    Some things like changes to the Home screen will not but apps and other things should restore after you set the account up again. :)
     
  3. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    I don't know about settings... someone posted here and never replied to my questions (same as yours).

    But they did say that apps did come down on first login, no answer on set ring tones, etc.... Personally I haven't tried it, but please let us know!

    Are you syncing to google? If you are, I'm sure your google sync stuff will work like before (I love this).
     
  4. DroidRX

    DroidRX Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did notice that if you go to settings>privacy, there's an option to "back up my settings". I haven't tried it but maybe this will save your settings such as ringtone, notification settings, etc.

    Maybe someone else can elaborate?
     
  5. pirahna

    pirahna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    12
    I exchanged a Eris for a Droid, the apps and settings did not return. The contacts did however.
     
  6. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have it on. It looks like settings are saved to a google server so they should come back if you have to exchange your phone. I have no idea what settings are saved though. It doesn't give that detail.
     
  7. scorrpio

    scorrpio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use Astro to backup the apps.
     
  8. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    But how will you restore it to a new phone (or a new sd card?)
     
  9. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    I exchanged mine and all my settings and apps were restored and installed.
     
  10. tennvol

    tennvol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    just fired up my new one, my apps, contacts, etc were there, but no settings. which pretty much sucks
     
  11. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    So none of ur system settings were saved?
     
  12. tennvol

    tennvol Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct
     
  13. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    What setting are you talking about? Because ot does not add programs and widgets back but it does backup the settings you set in the settings menu.
     
  14. meaker

    meaker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you didn't do the back up in your phone but your apps were still there on the new phone just cause you have a gmail acount?
     
  15. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    There is an option in the phone to backup settings, this is seperate from logging in with your google account to sync your contacts, calendar and such.
     
  16. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    The apps will not magicly appear on your phone.

    You will have to re-download them.

    Go to Market - downloads and there they should be.
     
  17. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    The apps will re-appear.
     
  18. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    How do they get on the phone ?????

    They have to be downloaded to the phone.

    Just lie when you do a factory wipe of your phone. You have to re-download the apps.
     
  19. atlbuc

    atlbuc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    49
    Have you even performed a factory reset? I guess you didn't see this
    "just fired up my new one, my apps, contacts, etc were there, but no settings. which pretty much sucks"

    Plus I have done several factory resets and each time my apps were downloaded automactically. Between having the backup settings checked and logging in to your google account, it will all be there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...