Exclamation icon with a phone underneath?


Last Updated:

  1. AgentGooble

    AgentGooble Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I think I messed my phone up trying to unroot it. When I hold down the "Home" and "Power" key to bring up the system menu it doesn't come up... what does come up is an exclamation triangle with a little phone underneath. I then have to do a battery pull and start it normally. I can, however, bring up the system wipe by holding down "Home", "Back Key", and "Power". I did the wipe and tried once again to bring up the system menu with no such luck.

    I've downloaded the Sprint RUU 1.56.6 and installed it onto my phone. It has been since this install that I couldn't access the system menu. Has it deleted it? What do I do?! I just want my phone the way it was when I got it.

    Please send me some guidance. :) :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. AgentGooble

    AgentGooble Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nobody can help?! :( I guess Sprint customer service it is. Ergh!
     
  3. jdawg0024

    jdawg0024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    EDIT 2: Got some answers over at XDA they tell me that if you are running the Stock Sprint 1.56 RUU there is no recovery loaded onto your phone. However you can boot into fastboot mode by holding down the vol. down button with the power button to boot up.
     
  4. AgentGooble

    AgentGooble Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, so I have to figure out how to re-load the recovery? It used to be on there and now it's just, missing. lol Crap!

    Yeah, I saw the fastboot mode but it doesn't do anything but start the phone back up. I'm on the phone with Sprint right now. I might just go swap it out and not mess with it until the 2.0 update comes out, lol.
     
  5. jdawg0024

    jdawg0024 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    5
    Why do you need to boot to recovery anyway? Let me know what Sprint Tech Support tells you.
     
  6. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    once you run the RUU on your phone it erases the ROOT access and The Recovery image you flashed just like if you pulled the phone out of the box brand new
     
  7. AgentGooble

    AgentGooble Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I'm not really trying to boot to the recovery system option screen I just know it should be there, and it's not. I have ran the RUU through via USB and it did restore it like it was out of the box... only it's missing the "Home + Power" boot up options.

    I'm thinking maybe I should just take it to Best Buy or Sprint and have them flash it for me? I just want everything to be normal on it. I'd like to just hang in there until 2.0 comes out. :)

    And BTW, jdawg, Sprint Support was absolutely no help. The guy said he honestly had no idea how to get it back on there. He was aware of what I was talking about but didn't know how to get it back on, lol. I love support for these things. They're so helpful. I was fortunate enough to get somebody who spoke proper and fluent English though. That was a total bonus! ;-)
     
  8. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22

    are you talking about the fastboot .....when you power the phone on holding down the vol button ..............if you runn the RUU there will not be a recovery img when you try and power on holding home down the phone doesnt have those installed that only for root when flashed properly
     
  9. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    Jeez, dude, what did you expect??? In case you're weren't aware, let me inform you of this one simple fact -- the instant you rooted your phone, Sprint was off the hook for ANY further support for you.

    I'm truly sorry you have the problem with your phone that you do, but don't blame Sprint (or anyone else) for not bailing you out.
     
  10. romeosidvicious

    romeosidvicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    58
    While your statements may be technically accurate the tone is completely unnecessary. These forums are where people get help and he's getting help from someone right in this thread. Your comments really aren't necessary at all and only serve to make you look like a bully.
     
  11. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    +1 romeosidvicious
     
  12. oldjackbob

    oldjackbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    12
    You're right, my comeback was rather harsh. My apologies to the OP.

    My problem is not that people root their phone, or that they come to this forum for advice on how to fix a problem they have as a result of rooting. My problem is with people who root their phone then badmouth the manufacturer/ISP for not fixing their problem.
     
  13. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    The way I reset to factory was:

    Hold Home and Back keys at same time then press the power button. Hold the Home and Back keys down until it the screen comes up. Then click on reset.
     
  14. chuhsi

    chuhsi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    5
    thank you!
     

Share This Page

Loading...