• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

explain it as you would to a child.

ionekoa

Sep 28, 2009
ok. so i just rooted my phone the other day. now im looking for a rom to install froyo.

here's the problem. while i do love my phone, and i would rate myself ever so slightly above average in my knowledge of "what android is and does"i am by no means a developer, nor do i comprehend a lot of the technospeak revolving around roms and whatnot. so, when im looking for a simple link that says "here is a good 2.2 Rom for the sprint hero" all the talk of "nightlies" and "which kernal" and all that is very confusing and frankly a bit intimidating.

the guide DB in AZ was kind enough to provide me with this link

http://androidforums.com/sprint-hero-all-things-root/162943-how-flash-custom-rom.html

however before i leap off the high-dive i want to make sure im going to be able to swim so to speak. so can anyone explain to me in plain terms(don't be afraid to dumb it down) what exactly im getting myself into here. things i feel i need to understand better are

ROM: i thought i understood this, but now im not so sure. if i run CM6 is that getting rid of sense(if so it's not a big deal)? because i figured it would but some things i've read are so ambiguous it makes me wonder.
Kernal: what is it and how does it differ from a ROM
nightly: i know this has to do with releases, so, do i have to update every night?

i know that these sound like stupid questions, but i am an absolute noob trying to wade into this thing and the people that i know have even less knowledge than i do(ie i have no one here to walk me through it and teach me.)