External SD card notification


Last Updated:

  1. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me start by saying, I love this phone. But I might need to jump ship asap if this problem can't be fixed...I am now on my second B2 because i thought the first phone was defective. Well I'm having the same problem with my new B2...The phone is disconnecting and connecting on its own consistantly. And it keeps sending me notifications. I've tried 3 different SD cards all with the same result. Eventually it will erase all card data and tell me the card is damaged. Anyone else with this problem? Should I go with the G1 or Mytouch?:mad:
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jacqda

    Jacqda Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think this is a problem with the B2. I saw similar behavior from my G1.
     
  3. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Were you able to fix the problem? Or do I just need to exept this flaw?
     
  4. Jacqda

    Jacqda Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I accepted this behavior. I tried multiple cards, and I could never find any issues with the cards.
     
  5. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    use any other card .,.,. not scandisk
    since I put my 8g transend in ,I have 0 (ZERO) dis_mounts.,. put in the scandisk to test and yep dis_mount heaven.,.,
    Brandy is kicking in so I hope what I typed made sense.,.,.
     
  6. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you think I should try another B2 or just go to a Mytouch?
    If I recall I think the mytouch has its own built-in memory...
     
  7. Jacqda

    Jacqda Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting...all of my cards were SANDISK, including both of the cards that came with my phones.

    I wonder if MYTHBUSTERS would be willing to test this one. :)
     
  8. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use a PNY 8 gig. Do you think that has something to do with it?
     
  9. Jacqda

    Jacqda Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    All Android phones use internal and external memory - external in the form of a SD card - and the B2 has the MOST internal memory. I wouldn't bother changing phones over this one.
     
  10. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only have 70mb of internal memory left as it is...due to apps.
    There's no way to store pictures and video on here. correct?
     
  11. dan0zone

    dan0zone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well I used the one that came with the phone and another one I had , it got so bad that I had to turn off the sd card notification so I don't hear it no more , but have no issues what so ever now thanks to my transend,from my G1.
     
  12. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I started doing but after a couple days it will eventually erase all data from my card...I just want to be able to save data...
     
  13. Jacqda

    Jacqda Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Issue 2500 - android - SD card corruption - Project Hosting on Google Code

    It's a long thread, but essentially it has to do with how one mounts and dismounts the storage when connected to a computer.

    1. Mount it via a SD card adapter? OK
    2. Mount it via cable and properly dismount it in both the computer and phone? OK
    3. Mount it via cable and do not properly dismount it? Damaged card.
     
  14. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow..thought i was the only one. Thanks for that link.
    Question...does YOUR B2 have the same problem?
     
  15. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    17
    This issue was also being discussed in the thread linked below. Many are under the impression that this issue will be fixed by a 2.0 update if im not mistaken this is a bug left over from 1.5 android. The only thing i can tell you is to unmount the card and remount it when you need to for now until 2.0 is released, it should be available by new years
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-behold-2/24083-anyone-else-having-problems-sd-card.html
     
  16. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well in that case I'll happily keep my B2...Thanks everyone!
     
  17. offthecha1n

    offthecha1n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    while your waiting you could try reformating your card, save everything to your computer, reformat it the just put the sdcard into the micro adapter instead of hooking up your phone via usb
     
  18. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK i'll try that...My question is, if this is a problem in the android software, then why isnt everybody with an android phone experiencing this issue? or are they? I just don't see the point in having a 5mp camera, video recording, and mp3 on my phone if I can't use it and save it...
     
  19. offthecha1n

    offthecha1n Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i called tmobile she said i was the 1st she had heard of, as i had swapped the phone out twice she even said she could get me a different phone even though it was way past my 14 day return date. hopefully the update fixes it, if not ill sell it on ebay, take the loss and move on.

    also the only thing i loose when it does it is my text alert tone, i have to repick the one i want. everything else stays the same
     
  20. Pissed

    Pissed Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok...I have an interesting find reguarding this SD card issue unless someone has already figured it out...

    I use Taskiller because for some reason we get all these random apps that open themselves up even when were not using the phone. when I use the mini Task Bar widget on my home screen to see what apps are popping up, I've noticed that the only time my phone has the SDcard problem is when the phone's music player opens itself up. So the only way to eliminate the SDcard notifications is to force close that app....But that will only last a short time untill it decides to open itself up again.
    So should I uninstall the music player app and go with one from the market?
     
  21. brianary

    brianary New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having the same problem with two SanDisk 16gb microSDHC cards on my Behold2, both class 2.

    I can use testdisk (Win/Mac/Linux) to fix the card (by fixing the MBR: Create log, Advanced), after which I back up the data (rsync on Linux or robocopy on Win will copy just the changes), but the card is just corrupted more and more frequently.

    Is it just me or did things actually get WORSE after the OTA update?
     
  22. msmparker83

    msmparker83 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. From what I understand since the Behold is a newer phone it has to do with the class of the sd cards. I have a sandisk class 2 and from what I been hearing u need a class 4 or better to work with the Behold 2. I recently bought a kingston class 4 and I will let u know how it works because I'm sick of my phone dismounting 4 times a day.
     
  23. B2user

    B2user New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the same problem with my Behold 2 and I think I may have figured out the problem (Tmo and Samsung where useless) I am on my second phone and second memory card. The same issues keeps happening. I have pics and music on the SD card... I get a message that the SD card is blank and I should format it, then I lose everything on the card. In my case, I noticed the issue happened again after downloading some pics to my computer. I think it is because of the way I hooked up and unhooked the phone from the computer. When you connect the phone to the computer the phone prompts you to "mount" the phone and when you are done, you can it "turn it off" through the phone but...you have to "eject" the device from the computer first, then turn it off through the phone and then unhook the usb cord. It corrupts the files on the card in the phone if you don't turn it off from the phone and the computer before disconnecting it.
    I just did it and I have had no problem so far. I will let you know if that changes but i hope that helps someone having the same problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...