facebook and latest 2.1 leakGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. XgeorgeX

    XgeorgeX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    I upgraded to the latest leak that came out the other day and I'm having an odd issue. I've seen someone else in the main thread for the leak mention they are having a similar problem. What is happening is when I try to do any updates in Facebook (post on wall, perform a like, update status, etc) I get an error message. The error message is "Cannot Post Status at this time please try again later [200/feed story publishing is disabled for this application]". Looking through the settings on the phone I don't see any that are for the feed story. Is there a service that isn't running that should be? This is the only odd thing I am seeing in this build so hopefully I can get this one worked out.
     

    Advertisement
    2dot1 likes this.
  2. ryan79260

    ryan79260 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've been experiencing this all day today and I'm still back on the first 2.1 leak. I don't think this is a leak issue, I believe it is a problem with the Facebook application and communication itself.
     
  3. XgeorgeX

    XgeorgeX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    sweet. The error sounded like it could have been on the Facebook side however out of all the people that installed the newest only 1 other person brought it up. Thank you for the info.
     
  4. 2dot1

    2dot1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    Having the same issue.
     
  6. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same issue for me, and I'm still on 1.5...
     
  7. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Me to on old 2.1 leak, the Android FB app is a joke
     
  8. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    Log on Facebook on a Computer.

    Go to Account > Application Settings

    Next to Show, select 'Authorized'.

    Scroll to the bottom. Under Desktop Applications, HTC Sense should be there. If it's not, that's your problem right there.

    If it's there, click on Edit Settings, and make sure it's authorized to post.

    My gf's Leak Eris doesn't want to sync Contacts. In investigating that, I wound up loading up her account on my 1.5 phone, going to People > Me (her name) > Facebook > and posted a status.

    HTC Sense was then Authorized. Didn't fix the contact syncing problem, but now she can post her status.
     
    thenestor likes this.
  9. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    ** This is to post from your People app when you click on your name.

    I needed to read deeper to see that you're using the Facebook App, and not the HTC Sense app.

    I'd go into the Application area where you saw HTC Sense, and make sure you Edit Settings on 'Facebook for Android' and make sure it's authorized to post. If it's there, but not authorized, there's your problem. if it's there and IS authorized, and isn't working, REMOVE the app (by pushing the X). Then log out of your Facebook app on your phone (or uninstall it), then reinstall it (or log back in from Menu > Settings > Sync > Add Account > Facebook) so it can reauthorize to post on Facebook.

    Try that.
     
    thenestor likes this.
  10. rthibeault

    rthibeault Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Works now from people app, but still doesn't work from Facebook app or widget...
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    running the new leak. Facebook app works after going into account settings. Everything was already checked except I bookmarked Facebook for android.
     
  12. AudiDan

    AudiDan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    went into settings>accounts&sync added facebook for htc sense, signed in again and works like a dream now, no problems.
     
  13. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    anyone know why all of a sudden I can't upload video to my facebook anymore. the option is just gone when I click on share
     
  14. amd2132

    amd2132 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any help syncing FB photos with contacts? I can not figure it out on the new Leak i have tried removing my FB account from "accounts & sync" restarting the phone. *228 restart. etc. none of my pictures from FB will find the contact in my phone... the info is there but the pictures wont display?

    Edit: for some reason it just synced. No idea why though...
     
  15. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Sometimes it takes a little bit for them to sync. If you have 100s of friends, it will have to sift through all of their info. and match phone numbers, names, emails, etc. It takes as long as a day. Yeah, sucks, but it is doing quite a bit of work there syncing so...

    Just be patient. It will come once you have signed in with your account.

    Also, obviously, make sure you choose the "Sync Contacts" option as well. Simply being signed into the account is not enough.
    :)
     
    amd2132 likes this.
  16. XgeorgeX

    XgeorgeX Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for posting that. That wasn't the issue but it's good to know there is a permissions section for the mobile apps. My FB app was working fine this morning so I think it was something on the FB side that wasn't working. It's funny because I might have posted something on FB like 6 times since creating my account and yesterday was one of the few times I wanted to post something lol.
     
  17. wildtouch83

    wildtouch83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    24
    I didn't think this was ever supported natively on the Eris?

    I knew there was a 3rd party app that would allow this though.
     
  18. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wow, two things that i thought would fix my problem, checking off Facebook under "View" on the people app, and i just got really excited and ran over to my Facebook page to check the applications and the permissions are all there. My OWN contact card is synced. The problem is when I press Sync in "Accounts & Sync" it flashes between "syncing" and "canel sync" for a few seconds then stops.

    :( Am i the only person with this problem?
     
  19. pkopalek

    pkopalek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    117
    W4lly, this is exactly how it is in the leak. You have to leave Mobile internet on for a while for syncing to actually do its thing.

    After an hour or so, go into an actual contact, hit Link to Facebook, and see if any names show up.

    Any luck? I was hoping for this to be fixed this time around for my GF. I will be horribly disappointed if it's not. Facebook for HTC Sense = fully fail.
     
  20. AwesomeIT

    AwesomeIT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    22
    This morning I'm able to use the FB app with no issues on the newer 2.1 leaked version. I haven't been able to do anything on the FB app since I updated to the newer 2.1 leak two days ago. I have no idea why this is. I almost exclusively FB from my phone, but this morning I did log into my account from my desktop PC to change my profile picture.

    Is this a coincidence? Probably, considering I changed no settings on it. I'm guessing it was an issue with the FB app and the network.
     
  21. mc48

    mc48 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    36
    I am running 1.5 on HTC Eris using the FB app. I have been using it for a week or so and it has been working fine. I had been using Bloo but noticed that it was spotty...only posted some comments, etc. and not others. Yesterday, I was having the same problem posting to FB with the Android FB App. It was all the sudden. Worked fine the day before. I looked up solutions like the one pkopalek suggested but since I couldn't log onto FB with my work computer I couldn't go that route. I just waited and today I have had no problems. And I didn't change anything. I am not sure it is an HTC problem. It makes no sense that it would be working fine and then not when I haven't changed any settings unless it was a problem on the other end...with FB.
     
  22. smacky

    smacky Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    299
    Like I mentioned, it takes a while for the settings to finally take effect since it's getting all that info at once.

    Got the cutie from school's university email address now. ;)
     
  23. TJTHEBEST

    TJTHEBEST Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    5
    I see you managed to un-brick your phone.. Howd you do it?
     

Share This Page

Loading...