facebook and messenger notifications?

1. piedrafina

piedrafina Member

hi all, i am new to android, having had a blackberry up until about a week ago. so far i like it more than the blackberry i gave up, but i still have a few questions. they may be silly, so i apologize in advance.

i am currently using a samsung galaxy and when i get a facebook notification or an instant message, they show up in the notification bar, but there is no sound alert. in the case of messenger, the phone does at least vibrate, but i am really looking for audio notification, preferably different ones for different apps.

i have already accepted the fact that i can't sync to outlook like i did with my blackberry without paying for a third party app and that there is no led notification, so i am hoping there is a way around this one, even if it involves downloading an app. i found an app that serves for the missed call reminder, so i would be ok with that.

Advertisement
    :
  2. chanchan05

chanchan05 The Doctor Guide

You can USB sync to Outlook using Samsung Kies for free. It usually comes in a CD with the box, or you can download it free from the Samsung website. I however prefer cloud sync to Outlook (Outlook-Google-Phone). Kies syncs Contacts, Calendar, Tasks (for SGS2), Notes. Keep in mind that if you sync using Kies, you can't sync to Google as well, so you either sync through Kies ONLY, or sync to Google and have Google sync to Outlook.

There is an app in the market called NoLed (I think), for those with no LED if they want a similar notification. I think it uses the screen to blink.

For the sound alert, I would assume you have the notification volume up? Facebook and Messenger has their own notification menu. Open the app, click on your phone's menu button>settings>notifications.
  3. piedrafina

piedrafina Member