facebook app acting weirdSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Medic7857

    Medic7857 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive noticed that when I click on the notifications button on the facebook app it says "cannot retrieve notifications try again later, 601 parser error unexpected at position 68." The rest of the the app works just fine and updates as it should. Has anyone else had this problem or know what I should do to fix it? Ive tried several reboots, made sure i was in 3g and everything. Its just weird because this is the only update not working.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bdudek

    bdudek Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been experiencing the same thing and would love to know the reason
     
  3. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a facebook widget on my home page and sometimes when I tap it, I get a blank screen but then if I tap on my Inbox or anything else on the top bar it shows up. Might be a glitch with the facebook app or something.
     
  4. SpecialEd

    SpecialEd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had some screwy facebook issues this week. Would not load, loading errors, etc. Finally it looked like I got logged out and had to log back in (did not save my credentials). Maybe they pushed an update? Can they do that? Very odd but ok now.

    The worst is that some applications sneak into the news feed and I have not figured how to remove them. Stupid farmville.
     
  5. havi007

    havi007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    9
    I woud to know what's goin on because same thing is goin on with me but the news updates normally ... I hope this issue has been addressed to the developer
     
  6. speeddemon40

    speeddemon40 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having trouble with it all week, and from the reviews on it in the market EVERYONE has! Hopefully they resolve it soon
     
  7. gentlefury

    gentlefury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mines been doing that too....the entire facebook app is like a construction site....nothing works, lots of things are falling apart and nothing is connected yet.

    I don't really understand why they would release an old version for android when the iPhone is like 2 versions later.

    They have photo albums but you can't link to them. When the notifications actually work they link to the mobile site for some reason instead of the actual comment. I think they either need to finish the app or remove it completely. The site is more robust and that's not saying much!
     
  8. AZDroid

    AZDroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    Me too, same issue. I went to the market and they have the developer's support email listed, the more we complain hopefully the faster they will fix it.
     
  9. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    funny i have no issues with bloo
     
  10. Medic7857

    Medic7857 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im glad im not the only one having problems! Hopefully it will get resolved soon. It worked fine for a while, but as someone else said it linked to the mobile site instead of just going to the comment. Sometimes I found that I would open it from the facebook app, and then when I hit the back button it went to the google home page as if I used the web browser. For such a great phone that has so much ability I would think the small things wouldnt be an issue. Hopefully well see a fix soon
     
  11. skunkpbguy

    skunkpbguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    same app, same issue. No notifications, however the browser with mobile facebook works great and even pushes notifications. There's always more than one way to approach problems ;)
     
  12. bnuge942

    bnuge942 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, I have tha same problem with the app but the browser facebook works great like the last guy said. I just saved it as a favorite in the dolphin browser. I wish they would add facebook chat to the app like the Iphone has though.
     
  13. jacwashere7

    jacwashere7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive been having the same exact problem , tried logging off and then back in again and nothing changes... suckss

    the iphone's FB integration has been updated too in the last two days, wonder if this has any relevance
     
  14. Plakius

    Plakius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    This is a big issue ... and the reason being is that i should not have to work around on pre installed software .... we can not delete this faulty, less than exciting application so they should be high level urgency to fix this situation ... I've emailed them from the market and i suggest that everyone who is experiencing issue do the same and get this issue escalated and taken care of

    email them!! ..... Android-support@facebook.com
     
  15. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    The Facebook app isn't preinstalled. At least mine wasn't. I had the download it. There is social networking support built in and that works fine for me. It's just the notifications in the Facebook app that I downloaded from the marketplace.
     
  16. skunkpbguy

    skunkpbguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    App comes already installed on Droid, and nothing short of ROOTing will remove it. Thanks ekyle for the contact link! Android-support@facebook.com
     
  17. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
  18. zeroG

    zeroG Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've been having the same notifications update error for 2 days now. However it did update it once yesterday somehow
     
  19. MicroNix

    MicroNix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    37
    I had problems with FB too but traced it back to using WIFI. Turn WIFI off and the app was ok. Turns out RR's choice of DNS servers for my router was jacked. Changed them to static ones that I knew were good and everything was good to go. Haven't had an issue since.
     
  20. wirelessguy79

    wirelessguy79 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having FB issues as well. I use the link that was book marked on my HTC Hero. When on the newsfeeds/update screen, I click on the 'MORE' and it gives me the same updates, and they are mixed up, like 13 hrs, 4 min, 3 hrs, 24 min, just random, but they keep repeating. I even tried going through the widget from the Market, same thing. SO not sure, they need to hurry up and get it fixed.
     
  21. ekyle

    ekyle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    108
    I'm still having the notifications issue. Wifi or mobile 3G doesn't matter. Hopefully they'll update soon. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...