Facebook for Android 1.3 - battery bug / constant partial wake useSupport


Last Updated:

  1. royal23

    royal23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    3
    hi
    installed the new updated 1.3 version of Facebook for Android this morning.
    when i checked my phone just now i noticed battery is lower than it should be.
    a look at the Battery Graph (separate app) shows that it's draining constantly... hmmm

    so i checked the PARTIAL WAKE USE via the Spare Parts app. and voila: the new facebook up stays awake constantly.

    that's despite having any connectivity turned off (via the network connection switch; i only turn on when i need it to save battery).

    guess until they release a bug fix the only way is to uninstall.... ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. beyond

    beyond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah same thing here. Installed the update last night before I went to bed and woke up with a 40% battery loss! I'm certain it is the facebook app as my findings are the same as yours.
     
  3. kingvortex

    kingvortex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    30
    It also drains my battery an unacceptable amount. It's showing a large Partial Wake usage on my phone as well. I have uninstalled it and gave the reason as 'Defective'.
     
  4. beyond

    beyond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is anybody else experiencing this? It's a shame as this update improves things massively. However, perhaps this may be just a thing with our phones? I had a separate issue when I got long partial wake up times for when I get pop-up text messages from handcent. I even made a thread about but didn't get much replies. I still use handcent but no popup texts and it works fine. Haven't checked if it's still the same with newer updates tho.
     
  5. mrlongbeard

    mrlongbeard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yep, doing it to me too :mad:

    Ahhh well un-installed update and returned to factory shipped version
     
  6. StoneDeCroze

    StoneDeCroze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yup, same here. The graph on JuiceDefender took a small but noticeable downturn after the update. The phone was sat idle for about 3 hours. I've uninstalled the update, and the battery time left in the widget went UP by two hours after only 10 minutes.

    When you compare the functionality of the Android app to the iMoan version, it's depressing. Then add very noticeable dip in runtime to add insult to injury. Yes I did check that refresh was set to never.
     
  7. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    84
    Yep same here,just uninstalled the update.Shame because it looked allot nicer than the old version.:mad:
     
  8. Opium

    Opium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Serious? How disappointing, the new update is great
     
  9. dneill2006

    dneill2006 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here, going to uninstall.
     
  10. metal850

    metal850 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    same issue here, not allowing phone to sleep. Reseting phone to see if that helps, will let you know
     
  11. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    Me too - sorry, missed this thread earlier. I've uninstalled the upgrade.
     
  12. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    Uninstalled this morning, waiting for it to be fixed....
     
  13. metal850

    metal850 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, resetting didn
     
  14. jimdriver2

    jimdriver2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    11
    Same thing here, i'm just killing off the Facebook task when i'm not using it though.
     
  15. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    I wonder if 1.3 will still run if you log out when you're not using it? I can't check, I uninstalled ;)
     
  16. SteveH0773

    SteveH0773 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's killing my battery too... Uninstalling it now. Shame though, it looked like a decent update!
     
  17. czechplastik

    czechplastik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    42
    Weird, I'm having no problems whatsoever. Perhaps a conflict with something else is causing the problems?
     
  18. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yup, deffo a issue on my 2.2 froyo and 1.3 facebook for android. Even if i kill the app, isnt long b4 its running in background again. Uninstalled till it gets fixed, stock app it is for now.
     
  19. KTF

    KTF Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checked mine and its the same. Have rolled back to the original version to see if that makes a difference. Shame as the battery life was much improved after 2.2.
     
  20. bozzer

    bozzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    I also had some strage problems with mine.
    I added the account and it seemed to just keep adding multiple sets of freinds to my contacts. On Facebook I have around 180 friends but the android app was showing 700 and slowly increasing.
    The actual contacts were not going up because they were linked but something odd was going on. This also hammered my battery.

    I have uninstalled the upgrade and only sync feeds for the widget rather than contacts and it seems to be working now. I hope another update will fix it as it looked more polished.
     
  21. Rogue

    Rogue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    10
    Mine just automatically updated!! argh!
     
  22. peter7769

    peter7769 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    83
    Yep, same here, but also has anyone noticed that its added something to the People app??, when i click on that and click menu then view, i have a strange line that reads... com.facebook.auth.login never saw that before the update??

    Pete
     
  23. Ceefax

    Ceefax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    15
    No problem for me with facebook on 2.2, though I am using a custom ROM so perhaps its the Sense causing problems?

    Just to check also, what's the sync frequency you've all set in facebook? I have mine at never so it only syncs when I tell it. Might be worth changing that and see if it effects it.
     
  24. StoneDeCroze

    StoneDeCroze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    5
    Mine was set to never, made no difference.
     
  25. no fit state

    no fit state Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    11
    I've uninstalled the update.

    Yesterday my phone was dead by 2pm with the latest version, today it's still got 17% left at nearly 7pm on the old version
     

Share This Page

Loading...