Facebook for android MalfunctionGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Kawinght

    Kawinght Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    When i try to go to my Facebook for android and refresh my newsfeed it says "an error has occored while fetching data [Malformed jSON] "

    What does this mean? I tried restarting the phone and loging out and back of facebook for android. In any other suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    This is happening on my Droid as well.

    It's not your phone or the Facebook app on your phone that's the problem. It's Facebook doing something to cause this issue. The alternative Facebook app called Bloo is also having problems.

    Either Facebook will have to fix what they broke or the app programmers will have to work around it.
     
  3. Kawinght

    Kawinght Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    any way to fix it temporarily? maybe uninstall and reinstall app? or is my facebook for android not going to work at all ever untill some programmer/facebook fixes it?
     
  4. Kawinght

    Kawinght Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Figured it out!!!!! I shared a webpage on facebook and thats when this started so i removed that post and now it works fine! then i shared using my computer to initiate the share webpage instead the phone so now my post is back on facebook and my android facebook works!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
    AndroidsOfTara likes this.
  5. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    You're absolutely right! I deleted a link I made yesterday on my phone and everything started working on my phone again.

    I still say it's something on Facebook's end rather than the Facebook app. I post links all the time from my phone and have never had an issue before this.
     
  6. vjetti

    vjetti Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    So the facebook app has problems with links..not surprising.

    I can't figure out how to hit a website link or youtube vid that ppl post on my newsfeed. It just takes me to the person's profile when I click on it..not the link. Anyone help with this?

    I know the Iphone facebook app can do this...argh
     
  7. Kawinght

    Kawinght Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    You cant do that with Facebook for android. You have to go to facebook on the phone's internet to click the link. "Its not a problem just the way the facebook for android was designed."

    Facebook has not allowed android to make an app like the iphones or blackberry so until then we are stuck with the "facebook for android"
     
    vjetti likes this.
  8. Kawinght

    Kawinght Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can I get a thanks? linky clicky? :cool:
     
  9. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    There ya go..
     
  10. vjetti

    vjetti Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's not much of a solution though. I want to use the app, click a link and then have it open in the browser. Instead I guess you have to use just the mobile browser version for all facebook use..which doesn't look as good or load as fast. O well, thanks though
     
  11. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    I don't understand why Androids Facebook App isn't on par with Apples Facebook app/? it makes nosense
     
  12. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    I know. It's not even on par with the mobile website. For example, where's the Inbox??? It's also annoying that when you open the app, it doesn't sync immediately.
     
  13. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Yeah I have to use Bloo in order to get my notification but Bloo doesn't work well with the web site.

    As far as the Facebook app Inbox they added it in the last update , finally
     
  14. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    Everyone on this email need to write and complain. This is rediculous.
     
  15. the_leader

    the_leader Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    "You cant do that with Facebook for android. You have to go to facebook on the phone's internet to click the link. "Its not a problem just the way the facebook for android was designed."

    Just hold your finger down on the link text, it should bring up an option to open the link in browser.
     
  16. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    Since my Incredible is brand new, how do I check the version of Facebook installed? I went to the Android market and saw that the latest version is 1.2

    Edit - I just figured out that I actually have "Facebook for HTC Sense". Is installing the version from the market OK and how would it be different, ie. why would there be a version specific to Sense?
     
  17. mntbighker

    mntbighker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    9
    I found that if I use the Sense version it never let my Inc sleep. I installed the update via Market and it seems to work as well as it's going too ;-)
     
    amarryat likes this.
  18. amarryat

    amarryat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    41
    Thanks - installing now, and it said it was going to replace my current version.

    Edit - yes, this version is much better.
     
  19. thisiisnick

    thisiisnick Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting the same "[Malformed jSON]" error when I try to look at the News Feed.
     
  20. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well I realized that it just wasn't an Android problem because my iPod Touch facebook was doing the same thing. So it's definatly a facebook problem
     
  21. Mitch R.

    Mitch R. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    6
    The best experience vie had so far is pointing my browser to touch.facebook.com.installed bolo earlier today and can't even see my own profile. According to the dev's blog, he's working on Bloo 1.5. I'll give it another shot once the new version is released. I don't like the htc sense friends stream because of the fb contact importing and limited functionality.

    I did update the Android fb app via the market and at least I can now work with messages. If they'd add chat and push the fb notifications, I think we'd be good to go.
     
  22. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    WTF? I'm getting this error as well. I also have an iPhone as a work phone and all I get is a generic "Error" when trying to view news feed...... My chrome extension will also not load the news feed .... guessing its something on Facebook's side with my account because its not just the Android app .... its ANYTHING I use to access my News Feed. And I haven't posted any recent videos or links that I could delete like others have done to "fix" it. They better fix it soon!!!
     
  23. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    Did anyone figure this out yet? I did some research and it seems to be a common problem ALOT of people are experiencing starting about a week ago (mine just started yesterday). I have found no answers. It is really annoying and pretty much makes Friendstream and the Facebook app now useless for me....
     

Share This Page

Loading...