Facebook issues (pairing, authorization, contacts)Support


Last Updated:

  1. like2eatpie

    like2eatpie Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Just got my new HTC One (UK VF)

    Why cant i link a contact to FB? In my contacts screen i may have a contact nuerous times, it seems for all of their different accounts, phone number, email, fb etc. I try to link the phone number to facebook account but nothing happens?! Everything was fine on my One S now i am tearing my hair out! :mad:
     

    Advertisement
  2. gonowhere

    gonowhere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    147
    Assuming you have already checked your FB settings?
     
  3. karice73

    karice73 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got mine today and having the same problem. I've gone through the same steps with multiple entries and it links a few contacts, but most it does not.
     
  4. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I am having trouble with Facebook on my new phone. When I first got the phone I could sign in and view Facebook but not update status or upload pictures. If I opened it thru the web browser instead of the app I could. Now I can't access facebook with the app OR thru Internet browser. Thru the app all I get is a no network connection message and thru the web browser I get web page not available message. Even if I google "Facebook". It is very frustrating because my account works fine on my iPad and computer. Any help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks
    Cory
     
  5. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot Guide

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,651
    Likes Received:
    1,258
    go into the phone settings >system updates>update profile, update the profile and then try again
     
  6. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    can you use other apps, such as youtube app for example?

    what carrier are you on?

    is this occuring on wifi AND cellular?
     
  7. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see an option for system updates. the problem is only with facebook, everything else works fine. wifi, cellular neither will work. Tried to uninstall the app and start over but it is a factory app and I cant delete it.
     
  8. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    what carrier are you on?
    settings and scroll to the bottom to see system updates. this may depend on your carrier.

    if you cant reach facebook.com from the browser, try another browser. does not make sense that you can not reach facebook.com from your browser but you can reach other websites just fine...

    must be something you are missing.

    maybe go to the android app store and uninstall the facebook updates and try an older version...
     
  9. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    this message just came up. Authorization problem. Please authourize HTC Sense to access your facebook account. Once your HTC Sense is authorized you can read and post updates in people, gallery and calendar"
    Sounds simple enough but I can't figure out how to authorize HTC Sense.
    Any thoughts?
     
  10. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    htc sense needs to be a go between to get your crackbook info and to post it on blinkfeed, etc.

    there should have been a box to popup allowing you to give permission.

    modified the subject title...
     
  11. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    there was no pop-up boxes, I am doing a system update now, hopefully it helps
     
  12. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    what happens when you logout of facebook, remove all data from the apps tab (settings/apps) then re-login again?

    yes there is a box to authorize as I have had to do it on this model and previous htc models. maybe not a "popup" box per se, but there is a box to check that shows up when you first log into the htc facebook app....
     
  13. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    1,252
    Quick tip: Not to confuse this situation anymore, but I highly recommend a backup of your contacts in 'People' before authorizing Bookface if you have not already (In the menus it is something like: People -> Menu -> Manage Contacts -> Import/Export) Before you know it, your social contacts could be added to your phone book, could be duplicated, and could be synced to your Google account. It should be a simple toggle to turn them on and off but in case you want a hard copy you should probably get it beforehand.
     
  14. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    for some reason I can now use facebook when connected to wifi only. when out of range of wifi it says "network error"...
    very frustrating..
    thanks for everyones help thus far
     
  15. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    "out of range"?? :confused:

    do you have a cellular connection when not in wifi coverage? if so, are you able to use the youtube app to look at videos? can you do any other data services (skype? instant messenger apps, etc)?

    what carrier are you on? if you are on a gsm carrier, verify your sim card and account is setup correctly.
     
  16. SUMMIT700

    SUMMIT700 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    everything works except facebook, Netflix, you tube, google, etc... facebook worked for about 2 weeks then all these messages popped up
     
  17. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
  18. WarningU2

    WarningU2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had exactly the same issue with the HTC One S my wife just received from Bell Canada (or Mobility)

    I resolved it by going to Google Store - search for Facebook and getting the new app for Android. It updated the installed phone version and it hooks up the HTC Sense account fine now.

    Just sharing ... hope this helps.

    Also ... just remembered that I had to enable install from unknown sources too.
     
  19. whchahine

    whchahine New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all,

    i still Have the sense Authorization Problem on Facebook:(HTC One)

    what i did:

    - update the android version
    - update to the last Facebook version
    - Force Stop + clear Data of facebook and facebook for htc sense + restart
    -i went to my facebook account settings> Apps> make sure platform is on
    - even i removed the facebook sense from the facebook,

    and when i tried to login again i followed the procedure..it didn't work ..

    last thing i did:
    Hard Reset my phone...updates...

    still have the problem.

    note that the twitter sense works normally, and the facebook as application also works normally.

    i appreciate any new ideas, cause am out of :S
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  20. philc387

    philc387 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    HTC one x plus and I have had the same problem since I received the Sense 5 update. I've tried everything and nothing has worked. The 'authorisation problem' is in the top left and my contacts' photos are all blurry. I'm out of ideas now and not best pleased. I've turned off my Facebook for HTC sense notifications for now which at least takes the annoying notification away. There are a few other people with the problem it seems. Fingers crossed for a fix soon.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,689
    Likes Received:
    3,484
    nothing will happen unless you open a ticket with HTC. This is not an official HTC forum so they will not know if you just post here. :)

    they have excellent customer service and the more tickets on the issue, the faster they can see it as being an "issue" and work on a fix.
     
  22. philc387

    philc387 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi, thanks, that was going to be my next step but I'd heard mixed reviews about how good they are. I've opened a ticket with them now so will post again when they reply.

    I've just rang HTC and spoken to a guy who said that my only option really is to send my phone off to them for repairs. He said that it sounds like a software issue and that they would reinstall the software on the phone which should fix it. I'm reluctant to send it away however as I'm not sure I can be without my phone and I'm also concerned that they'd charge me a lot to do it. Is there any way that I could reinstall the software myself? I know it's risky but I'm willing to give it a try if it means not sending the phone away. Thanks for your help
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  23. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    178
    When I first got my phone Facebook pushed notifications just fine. It would make a noise and the notification light would blink. About a week ago I disabled the Facebook app because it wouldn't let me uninstall it. Yesterday I decided to re-enable the app and updated it to the latest version. Ever since then Facebook will not push a notification and I have to actually open the app to see if I have any messages. I've tried disabling the app again and clearing app data, but that didn't help. Any suggestions?

    I'm running stock Android 4.2.2 on my Verizon HTC One.
     
  24. gibbs1984

    gibbs1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    212
    Do you receive push notifications for other apps?

    Have you accidentally disabled autosync?

    Have you checked in the apps settings to make sure that notifications are enabled?
     
    Banished Angel and marctronixx like this.
  25. Banished Angel

    Banished Angel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    178
    Yes.

    No.

    Yep. Notifications are enabled, but they don't push for some reason.
     
    marctronixx likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...