Facebook sync is getting on my nerves!Support


Last Updated:

  1. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    How the heck do I get facebook to only sync with my current contacts and not download all of my facebook friends into my phone? I don't talk to more than half of my facebook friends so I don't need their numbers in my phone!:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. CheezWiz

    CheezWiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    63
    Does it download them straight to your main address book or a separate one? On my WinMo device, I can only access facebook contacts via the application. I like it that way..
     
  3. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    To sync only the contacts you want you have to do it manually.
     
  4. Rutgerskid

    Rutgerskid Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Please help...I've tried everything? It keeps auto-syncing...Am I doing something wrong?
     
  5. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Go into Menu -> Accounts & Sync -> Facebook for HTC Sense. Uncheck sync contacts.

    Then open the People app. Select the person you want synced. Hit menu and select Link. Select Facebook to link just this single contact with their Facebook profile.
     
    photographx, DieselBDC, Dex and 22 others like this.
  6. Grey Lion

    Grey Lion Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    is there a way to manually sync certain facebook friends to contacts? or is it all or nothing?
     
  7. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    See my previous post.
     
    nickacs and Grey Lion like this.
  8. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sorry I didn't think there would be a reply to this cause it dropped off the first page so fast lol. I did manually sync and turned off auto, but the minute I started to manually do it, it downloaded all of my facebook contacts too. I have just come to deal with it at this point lol. I hope I don't accidentally call anyone from facebook!:p
     
  9. shawn487

    shawn487 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    326

    i tried this but it just brings up a search to fb but no contact are in there?
     
  10. Ladera

    Ladera Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    58
    Does the facebook snyc setting control Friendstream? Right now I am only using Friendstream and not the actual facebook app.
     
  11. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Did you set up your FB account or the Facebook for HTC Sense? It's 2 different things.
     
  12. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Try removing your FB for HTC Sense account and readding it. Make sure to turn off auto sync. Then see if you can manually link the contacts.
     
  13. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7

    Should I turn auto sync back on afterwards? What am I missing if I don't?
     
  14. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You should be able to turn auto sync back on. I think auto sync is responsible for pulling status updates and profile pictures. You can always just do a manual sync.
     
  15. Nicks

    Nicks Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you take pictures with the incrdible, than post it on facebook?
     
  16. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Yes, there's a Share button after taking a picture.

    Pg. 158 in the Incredible UG.
     
  17. Nicks

    Nicks Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^thank you very much
     
  18. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    FYI-

    In your contacts list, you can also choose which sync groups you want to see listed. Just open the People app, hit Menu -> View. You can then uncheck Facebook and your Facebook contacts will not be displayed.

    I think this will be a better option for most people. That way you get the Facebook integration with your contacts without seeing ALL your FB contacts.
     
  19. jpr18

    jpr18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    12
    Did this change for 2.1? My brother's Eris did not sync all his FB friends, only the ones currently in his contacts.
     
  20. Echo17121

    Echo17121 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    7

    That sounds like an easier alternative to this back and forth game of install, notice everyone is there, uninstall, reinstall... haha. Thanks!
     
  21. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Yea, I was trying to think of why I never had that issue. Then it dawned on me that I had FB contacts unchecked in my contact list.

    What would be nice is a way to sync FB friends lists. That way you could manage them on FB like you do with your Gmail contacts...
     
  22. gijoe411

    gijoe411 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3

    ALSO, if you only want a few select contacts to be synced w/ FB click on the contact name and then check the small icon in the upper right of the screen that looks like a plug. If its green, then it's syncing.
     
  23. dt_

    dt_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the OFFICIAL Facebook app do this too or is it the HTC Sense FB app only? :p

    What do you guys recommend in terms of accessing FB anyway? I'd imagine the official FB app would be updated more frequently and have better features.. is that the case? Or is the bundled HTC one super good as it is? (Or am I misunderstanding it and in fact there is no actual HTC app for FB, just the Friendstream which contains FB access)?
     
  24. jpr18

    jpr18 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ok, now I'm TRYING to link all my contacts, because it only did 3-4 of them by itself. But when I click on the person's name, it already has "1" next to link and can recognize their FB account. And I already went into accounts and synced with FB incl. contacts.
    I have to go one by one to link them.
     
  25. JMKosmo

    JMKosmo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    333
    I did everything NKT said and now it's telling me I have no FB contacts. If I let it sync the first time it adds everyone. If I use the NKT method, when I manually update my contacts and hit the FB app...no one in my list. Also is there another app icon for FN for sense?
     

Share This Page

Loading...