Facebook sync issueSupport


Last Updated:

  1. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22

    Advertisement
  2. bwthor

    bwthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    31
    Is your phone set to automatically sync with Facebook?

    Menu-->Settings-->Accounts & Sync-->Facebook
     
  3. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    yup
     
  4. jgalvar

    jgalvar Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    16
    I had the same problem at first after changing one of my password as well...i think i went into the Facebook app and went to friends and let all of my friends load then...

    I had to go into my 'people' and link all my contacts to facebook manually one by one...kinda sucked but it will remember the ones you link even if you have to change a pw or anything like that..

    If I remember something else I did I'll let you know
     
  5. bsfbb724

    bsfbb724 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    same as jgalvar...
    for some reason if it wasn't identical to their facebook user info, it would not sync so i had to go through and manually like friends and facebook accounts...PITA but as of now thats the only way to get it done
     
  6. potterdood

    potterdood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    26
    I went in and linked mine 1 by 1 also, good thing I only have like 500 fbook friends. I have mine set to autosync also, but usually just go into people and then go to fbook and manually sync my contacts, I never change my password.
     
  7. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    How are you manually syncing them? I can't get it to allow me to do so. I open up a contact in "people" then scroll over to the update section, choose "link to facebook" then it says No Matches :(
     
  8. sanfrandroid

    sanfrandroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today, when I manually go into online directories to refresh my facebook directory, there's constantly a connection error. I'm wondering if it's just my phone though, or if the app is buggy.
     
  9. BeastMD

    BeastMD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    18
    Been happening to me since Friday.
     
  10. Kaela

    Kaela New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an EVO and have synched facebook for HTC sense, but my facebook photos still don't show up in my contacts. I noticed that my friends also don't show up in my online facebook directory. Can anyone out there help me out?
     
  11. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    This is a widespread problem. If you were synced to your FB contacts before, they will stay synced. But if you had to reset your phone, etc. and try to sync, you will get an error message. It's happening to a lot of people and there is no fix at this time.
     
  12. BeastMD

    BeastMD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes you are stuck a wherever you are before the issue started.
     
  13. Pretkomel

    Pretkomel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same problem here even after deleting the account and signing again. Verizon does not know of any fix at this moment, I just talked to a rep. a minute ago. I take the advantage to ask about froyo and he said that something is already out there but he can not say dates.
     
  14. frmovrfnctn

    frmovrfnctn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    6
    it absolutely bugs the crap out of me to not have a picture assigned to people in my contacts list or on handcent. just installed SyncMyPix and worked pretty well after a little tweaking
     
    JulieJHawk likes this.
  15. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well since I got my phone on Friday that would explain why I haven't been able to sync yet
     
  16. partizan

    partizan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly, the part about lack of connectivity is a bunch of crap. If you utilize the HTC Facebook interface, you can confirm that at least SOME functionality is there:

    1. Bring up your apps list, and click the People icon to access your contacts
    2. Click the third icon on the dock (looks like a globe)
    3. Click the Facebook icon
    4a. Now, if you've previously sync'd your phone, it will show the list of Facebook friends that were there at the last sync. If it's a factory reset phone or a new phone, it will say "You don't have any friends." Click the menu button, and hit "Refresh". You should get kicked back to the previous screen with "connection error."
    5. Now, click the Facebook icon again, it'll bring you back to that same screen. Hit menu again, but this time hit "My profile." It'll chew away for a few seconds, then display your PERSONAL FB profile. If you hit the sync button in that window, it'll bring up YOUR wall, complete with updates.

    That tells me that it's less of a "completely broken app" feature, and more of a "pointing to location A for contacts when we really should be looking at location B." This, in turn, only amplifies the point that this potentially is simply a coding issue that requires an updated internal link pointer, which only serves to show that really THIS SHOULDN'T TAKE 4+ DAYS TO FIX :\
     
  17. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    I did that and the part where it says in big bold letters "You don't have any friends" kind of depressed me a little.....
     
  18. Topshelf

    Topshelf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    24
    Thought I was the only one having this issue. Got a replacement phone the other day and can't get FB to sync. Hate not having pictures for my contacts. Guess I'll try out that other sync program for now since there doesn't seem to be any fix on the way for this. Sigh, Sense is wearing on me.
     
  19. TheLurg1687

    TheLurg1687 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same issue. Did a factory reset. Now I know I didn't need to do that... :(
    It's quite annoying having 0 friends haha
     
  20. JulieJHawk

    JulieJHawk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just installed this and it works well. Thank you, thank you, thank you! It was driving me crazy not having contact pictures!
     
  21. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    You do realize that things like Facebook use different servers for different aspects of their service, right? If one server is down, that will limit some of the features.

    FWIW, any connectivity issues I had over the weekend are gone. I can now refresh my notifications and sync everything just fine.
     
  22. RaeRae

    RaeRae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't even log into "facebook for HTC Sense" I can log into the the facebook app, but not the HTC version. Anyone else having this problem as well?

    I also can't sync my contacts with the regular facebook app either, despite there being and option to select it. It won't move to the next step to setting it up.
     
  23. frog8

    frog8 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was having a problem with linking a new contact. In other words, i went to link the new contact to add him to facebook and because i added him to facebook after i put him into my phone his name was not coming up. I made the mistake (ahhhhhhh!! lol) of deleting my facebook for htc...now im in the same boat as everyone else. oh well, at least it's not just me..
     
  24. cartisdm

    cartisdm Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    The issue was with one of the servers. It appears to have been fixed now.
     
  25. Makavetis

    Makavetis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    doesnt look like its fixed for me
     

Share This Page

Loading...