Facebook Sync Solution


Last Updated:

  1. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    I'm sure everyone here knows that Facebook sometimes doesn't sync with your newly aquired ROM. For me, it never did. I found a solution however. It may work for you, may not, but this is the best looking solution so far. Discusssed it with others over at XDA and this is what we came up with.

    First log into your facebook from the web
    On the top right hand side on facebook you will see ACCOUNT
    Click on Account and select APPLICATION SETTINGS
    Then on the application settings page there will be a drop down box with the title Show: select AUTHORIZE
    Then you will have a page with your authorized applications. They are organized by category so you might have to click on the category to expand that section.
    In the APPLICATIONS ON FACEBOOK category there will be FACEBOOK FOR ANDROID.
    You might have several listings for Facebook for Android. On the far right of the row there is a X.
    Click on the X and click REMOVE on the popup.
    Do this for every listing of Facebook For Android
    Next go to the category DESKTOP APPLICATION.
    You will see an entry or entries for HTC SENSE
    On the far right of the row of HTC Sense there will be a X
    Click on the X and select REMOVE on the popup.
    Do this for every listing of HTC Sense

    Then go into your phone and re-setup the accounts.

    good luck :cool:
     

    Advertisement
    sebsal and ibepressin like this.
  2. fayester

    fayester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    24
    Followed everything...keep getting "The service is currently unavailable..." Sigh.
     
  3. msierra519

    msierra519 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    10
    what rom are you currently running?
     
  4. NotSure

    NotSure Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wished it worked for me, but it doesnt
     
  5. MrERainey

    MrERainey Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried it too, still no luck.
     
  6. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    for those of you who tried this method, are you rooted or running the official update?
     
  7. NotSure

    NotSure Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    rooted
     
  8. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    wanna kno what's strange?

    you can go to your "photos" app and scroll over to facebook at the very bottom. funny how all your contacts will pop up in this app but they won't sync with your facebook "people" app

    someone should look into this...
     
  9. delarge05

    delarge05 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried your method still not working.....wtf is up with photo app working and not the people app this is some bull!!! Keep me posted if you find a new method! Im not rooted.
     
  10. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    so it's official? the update doesn't allow facebook to sync their contacts? that's WOW & BUGGY
     
  11. KitsapAndroid

    KitsapAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    118
    I sometimes wonder if I am the only person with a Sprint HTC Hero that does NOT have a problem with facebook or it linking to my contacts. My only weird thing with facebook in the 2.1 is how it brings up phone numbers of people from their FB acct. when you use the dialer search whether they are in your contact list or not. But that's not a bug apparently, it's just how the 2.1 update is.
     
  12. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    facebook has always had NO problems syncing with my Hero.. no matter what ROM I was using. so based on that..no it's not official.
     
  13. NotSure

    NotSure Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only issue I had was that events (birthdays) didnt sync
     
  14. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    do u have "with google"?
     
  15. ibepressin

    ibepressin Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    This worked for me. Thanks!!
     
  16. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    yes, although that really should make NO difference
     
  17. letum00

    letum00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked for me.

    First, I signed out of and removed all of my facebook accounts on my HTC Incredible.

    I then removed the two Facebook for Android and one HTC Sense apps from my facebook list.

    Next I added my Facebook and Facebook for Sense (this is what syncs your contacts and such) account information and then synced manually. Everything synced up perfectly and I now only have one Facebook for Android and one Facebook for Sense and my com.htc.bg process isn't crashing.

    Thank you for the fix!
     
  18. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    cool..glad it worked for you. what rom were you on?

    has anyone had any problems syncing with facebook since the new 2.1 roms have been released?
     
  19. littlewhiteowl

    littlewhiteowl Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    It didn't look like it worked for me. I'm running Fresh 2.0d and my Facebook app hasn't work since I got Fresh. Everything else is fine. And I can go into Facebook via YouTube...but not through the Facebook app. I get a 102/session error message every time.

    I'll see what happens when I reboot tomorrow morning. Night, everyone! Thanks....
     
  20. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    Right guys, this worked for me:

    Log in to FB and remove the FB for Android app.
    remove the account on your phones account settings
    restart the phone
    Add the account again
    then try to link a contact, try it a few trimes tho

    Should work!
     
  21. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    wha rom are you using?
     
  22. oxfordmark

    oxfordmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    2.1 Generic HTC Hero one.
     
  23. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    you're running the 2.1 update sprint gave?
     
  24. my menace

    my menace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    doesn't work for me on Zen
     
  25. taz633

    taz633 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I've just discovered something important about this problem...
    I had the same problems and even by deleting the 'HTC Sense' App on FB and re-added the sync account on m Hero, the problem did not resolve entirely.
    I'm using the Autokiller app to change the rules by which the Android OS is closing apps. (Apps don't really close in Android for anyone who doesn't know that, so the OS closes Apps using a set of rules, you can change those rules using Autokiller to make the OS close apps a little bit more efficiently). and to the point...
    Anyway, I thought to myself that there could be a slight chance that the rules I set were so strict that it could be that the problem is that the OS is closing the facebook syncing maybe because it uses too much RAM (maybe downloading the updates, contacts and photos takes a good load of RAM). so I've set the rules less strict, and suddenly, right after changing the rules - FB contacts, updates, and photos started to pour into my phone! I've found that it downloaded ALL of my friends, but I don't know why one was missing from the list (It's the only problem I've found and the friend count was correct - the contact list showed 74 friend while saying there are 75 of them for some unknown reason).
    So if any of you guys is using the Autokiller app with very strict settings, probably that's the problem (I'm still not 100% sure its the problem but it's very likely that it is) please lower these settings to allow the syncing to run as it should.
     

Share This Page

Loading...