Facebook sync w/ 2.1 (v1,v2,v3)General


Last Updated:

  1. niandra

    niandra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    On all of the beta 2.1 leaks I have not been able to sync my contacts with facebook (pics, profile info, etc..). On 1.5 I had no problem doing this.

    What am I missing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    My guess would be to go to Menu > Settings > Accounts & sync > make sure Facebook for HTC Sense sync icon is green.
     
  3. niandra

    niandra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    It is active and claims to sync, but my pics etc are being filled in on the contacts.

    Additionally, if I manually try to link a contact to a facebook profile, when typing in the name it fails to bring up any possible facebook contacts like it normally would in 1.5.

    Every version of the leak I have had this issue.
     
  4. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Try going into your contacts hit menu > view and make sure Facebook is checked. If that doesn't work I'm at a loss. I had the opposite problem, I don't want all of my Facebook contacts in there.
     
  5. dragonbro

    dragonbro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    25
    Silly question, but have to ask.........you are logged into facebook, correct?

    go to people, menu, view........what are the boxes you have checked? Also, contact names have to be exactly the same as profile names on facebook to sync.
     
  6. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    I beleive that statement might be inaccurate. I have my Dad in contacts as Dad and his facebook with his real name and they sync.
     
  7. droidhiker

    droidhiker Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    thenestor likes this.
  8. niandra

    niandra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yulp

    On 1.5 they could be close, not exact. Whereas, Christopher Dee (on fb) would suggest I link to Chris Dee (on phone).

    But yes, they are for the most part matching I imagine. Here is what mine displays on view in People:

    Only Contacts with phone number [x]
    Google(721) [x]
    Phone (0) [x]
    Facebook (0) [x]
     
  9. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Wally and several others have had this problem throughout the 2.1 leaks and they don't seem to have been fixed. I would recommend just using the workaround above if you have taken all of the steps to insure that fbook is set to sync. As was said above, the other end of the spectrum is that you do get it to sync but all 500 of your fbook friends end up in your telephone book. Just wait till you accidentally call your junior high sweetheart that you haven't spoken to in years. LOL
     
  10. dragonbro

    dragonbro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    25
    Well I guess I'm out of bright ideas :D Looks like the names DO NOT have to be exactly the same, my mistake. Good luck on the solution, that would drive me crazy!
     
  11. droidhiker

    droidhiker Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    I had that issue with v2 but haven't had that with v3 yet. I just synced the pics with my google contacts list and currently don't have any of my fb contacts synced and hopefully wont. I don't want to accidentally dial any of those jr high sweethearts ;)
     
  12. eorourke

    eorourke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. It shows me as logged in, but won't sync any of my contacts. I am currently running the 2.1 v2. Has this been corrected with v3?
     
  13. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    You are not logged into Facebook correctly. If you were, then you wouldn't have a "0" next to "Facebook". That number should display the number of people the imports from Facebook into your contacts. Something isn't set up correctly for you.

    For example, when I'm in my "People" app and hit Menu->View, it displays:

    Only Contacts with phone number (unchecked)
    Google (115) (Checked)
    Show auto Gmail contacts (checked)
    Phone (0) (Checked)
    Facebood (161) (checked)

    This might also be your problem, you are telling your phone to ONLY display those with phone numbers. Most Facebook contacts will not have phone numbers.
     
  14. Papadroid

    Papadroid VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    281
    Good catch!!
     
  15. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    For those of you with this problem, have you tried:

    1 - Changing your log in info on the phone?

    2 - Signing in through the facebook app on the phone (not the sense sync)?

    3 - Making sure that your contact's email address match at least some of your facebook contact's email addresses?

    4 - Going to people > menu > view and changing any of those settings?
     
  16. banduraj

    banduraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Facebook photo quality still sucks balls. In all versions of the leak.
     
  17. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Fine look like normal pics to me. Others have said that it takes time for them to load properly. Mine looked fine right away.
     
  18. eorourke

    eorourke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I double checked, and it is syncing my contact card, but nothing else. When I click view, I see the following:

    Only contacts with phone number (un-checked)
    Google (95) (un-checked)
    Exchanged (0) (unchecked)
    Phone (109) (checked)
    Facebook (0) (checked)

    Could this be a bug in my build / leaked version of 2.1? If so, where can I get a 'clean build'? All other features of 2.1 are working perfectly with the exception of the facebook sync / setup.
     
  19. banduraj

    banduraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is odd. So you don't have an issue with the facebook images in the people app looking grainy? Or when you make outgoing or get incoming calls, the facebook image that displays is not of really poor quality?

    I wonder if the images are cached on my phones SD somewhere from the previous 1.5 that is causing my issue?
     
  20. eorourke

    eorourke Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried all of those things. I even logged in to the FB Sense and FB app using someone else's login and I still had issues.
     
  21. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    I'm telling you, the way some people have recurring errors with other things...the only thing that doesn't work on my phone is Facebook contact syncing. I'm going to complain and see if they'll give me a refurb with 1.5..
     
  22. niandra

    niandra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    Nope, I am logged in correctly, it just doesn't sync. I have triple checked user/pass. That isn't the issue.
     
  23. niandra

    niandra Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand, but I only want those contacts in my phone that have numbers synced to facebook. Facebook sync is not, if i am understanding this correctly, higher in the hierarchy in regards to the phone number field. My numbers should still display and in ADDITION the rest of the facebook info should be filled in.

    That was my experience on 1.5 and I wish it would work on 2.1
     
  24. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    My contact pictures look great. When I make or receive a call they are a little grainy at first but clear up after a second. I think it is a quick load type of thing to limit CPU usage or something.
     
  25. thenestor

    thenestor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    316
    Here are some other suggestions to try if you're seeing "Facebook (0)" in contacts: menu: view after letting it sit for ten minutes.

    1. Make sure Google calendar sync is checked and auto sync is enabled in the phone's accounts & sync menu.

    2. To reset Facebook for HTC Sense and try again, remove your Facebook for HTC Sense account from the phone's accounts & sync menu, and then on the desktop Facebook.com site, go to Account, application settings, authorized, and click the "X" next to HTC Sense to remove it. Then try adding it again on the phone.

    3. To COMPLETELY reset your contacts and try again, make sure your contacts are backed up to Google or on your SD card, and then go to settings: applications and find Contacts Storage. Clear its data. Then it will re-download all your contacts from Google and Facebook, which will take a while.
     

Share This Page

Loading...