Factory Data Reset on Galaxhero..


Last Updated:

  1. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    While I wait for 2.0 to be released for this phone, officially or not, I've decided I'm giving it to my brother, and i'm going to play with a Milestone.

    Anyway before I hand it over to him, I obv want to delete all my email account etc info off the phone. I couldnt really be bothered re-flashing it, so does anybody know whether the factory data reset works on Galaxhero, and does it just leave you with a blank galaxhero slate?

    Cheers
     

    Advertisement
  2. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, it does.
     
  3. screaminbug

    screaminbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    It does, but be careful. When I did the factory reset in order to extract a some clean db files for behold2 guys, my phone wouldn't boot. We came to conclusion it's probably due to gapps (or their config) being deleted also, so make sure you have stock ii5 tarball renamed ii5.tar in on your internal sd card so you can restore gapps with rectools.

    However I almost broke my phone due to the fact gapps wouldn't restore in my case. (we assumed that was because sdcard fs was dirty or broken, and I probably formatted my sd card incorrectly which gave me some headaches).

    Please reply is it working for you. Or maybe you even managed to boot without restoring gapps after wipe.
     
  4. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Mmm, little worried about doing it now!

    Screamin, do you mean i should just have that tar sitting in the root of my phone? I flashed so long ago I've kinda forgotten what the process is.

    So when i restore factory data from settings and the phone reboots, do you expect it to go ii5.tar boot -> rectools -> choose restore gapps -> boot into galaxhero -> normal galaxhero boot after that?:confused:
     
  5. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    1. put II5.tar on internal sd
    2. boot into recovery
    3. wipe/factory reset
    4. apply update.zip (forgot about it the first time, sorry)
    5. DO NOT REBOOT
    6. restore g.apps
     
  6. screaminbug

    screaminbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    EDIT: First try what informale says. I didn't do it like that (I did factory reset from Settings and rebooted), and this could be a source of problems I was having

    ii5.tar has to be in the root of internal sd card. It doesn't matter if there are other files/folders there. In fact RECTOOLS.tar.gz are there (you need this), as well as nandroid backup files, and you would want those in case something goes wrong.

    You'll have to have rectools 4.3 at least (you probably already have it). If phone doesn't boot after factory reset, then yes:
    boot -> rectools -> choose restore gapps -> Reboot (in normal system)

    But before all that I strongly suggest that you make a nandroid backup, just in case.

    The one thing I didn't remember to try (when I got stuck) is just to apply galaxhero update.zip all over again and then restore g.apps, so you might wanna try that too if it still won't boot after trying out everything else.
     
  7. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Cool cheers guys, will do that tonight / tomorrow so.
     
  8. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Uh oh, I need help!

    I followed Informale's instructions and then when I went to reboot after, it's now getting stuck on the android (hd) screen. It just keeps starting up, flashing off, and then starting that bit again!:confused:


    edit: ok, i just re-did it and applied update.zip first, all good now! Got a fright for a minute there !
     
  9. UKLooney

    UKLooney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    No

    Your porn collection will be left on the internal SD :eek:
     
  10. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    hehe
     

Share This Page

Loading...