factory reset / data wipe = lose 3g? how does that affect us?


Last Updated:

  1. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    59

    Advertisement
  2. Taylored

    Taylored Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    60
    This is just a guess, but I am assuming once you update the radio it is not an issue. I am on Android 2.2 via the new radio and have not had any issues. I have wiped about 10 times in the past 24 hours.

    I am not going to test it, but you should be able to wipe, update the radio, root, and go to 2.2 without a problem.

    Side note: When I went to 2.2 last week my data went out and I could not get it to work right until I wiped it.
     
  3. crackers8199

    crackers8199 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    59
    that's what leads me to the question though...am i going to screw it up by going backwards when i unroot to install the new radio?
     
  4. rcicu

    rcicu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    24
    before I unrooted and went to 2.2 I did a factory reset and didn't lose 3G...
     
  5. mach330

    mach330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    5
    same here. i updated the radio and wiped my 2.1.
     
  6. Tony N.

    Tony N. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't know what this was about. I've never heard of this? Wouldn't it be wide spread? I've wiped my 2.1 about 3 times. I still have 3g?
     
  7. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    I think someone was playing a prank on the mod...
     
  8. tmellen

    tmellen Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    3
    Before I went Froyo, I had done three factory restore/wipes on 2.1 withot a single issue to my 3g speed/ability. Then I rooted (the old way, in&out with the SD card), then 2.2 came out and I flashed all the way back to 2.1 stock with a wipe and factory reset... 3G was working fine. I installed the OTA Radio, 3G was fine. I unrEVOked my phone, 3G was fine. I installed 2.2. 3G was fine. I messed with the build.prop changes for audio and other changes for audio on 2.2 and had to wipe/clear and reinstall Froyo from update.zip three times. 3G radio is STILL working fine.

    I've never seen the problem, but then again I am one user on one phone. YMMV/Grain of Salt/Good luck.
     
  9. TPR300C

    TPR300C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    23
    I just wipe my phone last night and I have not had any issues at all. 2 days ago I went from 2.2 to 2.1 and also wiped my data and no issues back then either so I don't think this is a widespread problem.
     
  10. GAUG3

    GAUG3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well, I just did a factory reset and I have no data. "Mobile network" just says turning on... It had been sitting there for about 2 hours.
     

Share This Page

Loading...