Factory Reset : Firmware deletion...


Last Updated:

  1. Mike777

    Mike777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    I recently updated my desire to run on Andriod Version 2.2.2 Software 2.33.161.6

    If I do a factory reset will it go back to the earlier version ?

    Many thanks for your time

    Regards

    Mike
     

    Advertisement
  2. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,047
    Likes Received:
    357
    A factory reset wipes everything that is on the data & cache partitions. Your system (ie the update) is on the system partition. The only way to roll back system updates (AFAIK) is to root then flash an older RUU.
     
    Hadron likes this.
  3. Hadron

    Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17,155
    Likes Received:
    9,922
    Yes, this is a common misunderstanding. The name "factory reset" leads many people to believe that it will reset the software to its original state, whereas all it actually does is remove the user's installed apps, data and settings.

    There is no space on these devices where the original firmware is backed-up. Any system update overwrites the existing system.
     

Share This Page

Loading...