Factory Reset on Froyo 2.2


Last Updated:

  1. pTac

    pTac Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been reading that some of the problems with the 2.2 update (such as screen rotation issues) may be fixed by trying a factory reset. I have 2 question:

    1. Will I loose all of my Google contacts, info, etc. and installed apps?
    2. How do you do a factory reset?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,545
    Likes Received:
    10,256
    1.Yes. You will reset the phone to its out-of-the-box state. Google should begin repopulating the phone once you log back in, but your SMS, MMS and app data will be gone forever unless backed up with MyBackupPro or Titanium Backup.

    2.Under Settings, go to Privacy Settings and Factory data reset.

    As an aside, I am rooted and ROMmed and have not experienced ANY problems. What exactly is wrong with your phone? :confused:
     
    jmt9779 likes this.
  3. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    56
    I got the impression that he was just doing a little research for when his OTA finally comes. I'm actually doing the same thing as a kind of "just in case 2.2 buggers my phone" type of thing. Hopefully I (and the OP) won't have to do a factory reset, but I have MyBackup Pro if necessary.

    Thanks, Chief!
     
  4. pTac

    pTac Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    It seems to run much different now. Slower for sure which is odd because I thought Froyo was supposed to go faster. And it seems to rotate oddly now where it didn't before I forced the update. Just some small things that drive me a little crazy! So, if I factory reset, the phone will go back to the 2.1 version which it came with???
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    a factory reset will not change your version of android. It only wipes data and cache. If you are on 2.2 you will still be on 2.2 just without anything that was previously on your phone.
     
  6. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    so will my apps auto populate or will I have to re-download them? And how will this affect my SD card and stuff/apps on it?:confused:
     
  7. adostrom

    adostrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    16
    Make sure you have backup enabled in privacy settings. Apps will auto populate except things you got outside the marketplace like Flash. Factory reset does not touch your SD card.
     
    corbinator likes this.
  8. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    But of course!!

    CRUMB!!!:mad: now I have to remember where I got it from.

    AWSOME!!! Ooo I may have the flash file on my SD card. Have to check!!
    Thanks a billion fo' shizzil.
     
  9. Remy999

    Remy999 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,how to in keybord reset factory data reset sharp sh7218u? plese help me.
     
  10. Chuck1906

    Chuck1906 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    7
    My Droid has been running really slow lately. I took it in to Verizon and they said I had a app that is known to give issues so they removed it. The app is called MY LOOKOUT. They went on to tell me to do a Factory Reset but said it might or might not fix my issues. My main issues besides the phone being slow is I constantly get the LOW SPACE and TEXT MSG MEMORY FULL notifications. I erased my call log, all text message threads and cleared all Cache's and was still getting the annoying notifications. I am not rooted.
     

Share This Page

Loading...