Factory Reset With Rooted 2.2 ota Droid


Last Updated:

  1. alexander323bc

    alexander323bc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    56
    I have rooted Droid with OTA 2.2 FRG22d. I used the following link: Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    I used that link to root my phone with an SFB file which i have as my update.zip. My touch screen freezes at times and calls drop at times. I was wondering if I did a factory reset, would that load the OTA 2.2 with my root? Would doing this cause any problems? I know I will lose my apps, but I want to do factory reset. Will there be any issues? Will the OTA 2.2 with my rooted SBF file still load?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    I rooted my phone, but am running the stock OTA 2.2. I did a factory reset and did not lose root and within about 20 minutes all my apps were back. I think it missed one of the freebies that I had loaded, but that was no biggie. I loaded something and screwed the phone up royally and had to reset.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  3. alexander323bc

    alexander323bc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    56
    did you do the factory reset by going to settings > privacy > factory reset?
     
  4. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    No, I did the factory reset through clockwork. Of course, you can do the same thing through spr. The both do the same thing. I wiped before resetting also.

    BigRedGonzo
     
  5. alexander323bc

    alexander323bc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    56
    the only real way i know how to do is cause my friend usually helps me with my phone is: Settings>>Privacy>>Factory data reset. Will doing this keep me rooted and ill still have the OTA 2.2 OS? All this will do is clear all settings correct? Also my contacts have been synced to gmail and saved on my sd card....those should come back automatically correct? all i want to do is "wipe data/factory reset"?
     
  6. BigRedGonzo

    BigRedGonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    204
    Power down your Droid, slide out the keyboard, hold down the "X" key and power it back on. Continue to hold the "X" key until you get to the bootloader screen. There is an option on that menu to wipe and to factory reset. This will wipe everything. Use the D-Pad to navigate around on the screen. You'll have to re-enter your gmail account information and that should start the re-syncing process. In my case, it re-sync'd my apps also. I would suggest after the factory reset, when the phone is finished syncing to go to the phone dial pad and dial *228 and choose option #1 and when that is done go back to the dial pad and dial *228 again and this time choose option #2. That will make sure your phone is programmed for your network and has the correct PRL loaded.
     
  7. alexander323bc

    alexander323bc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    56
    will this still give me the ota 2.2 OS and have my phone still roooted?
     
  8. sharkerbaby

    sharkerbaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'd post your question in the "All Things Root" forum. I'm recently rooted so take what I'm about to say with that in mind. I believe the only way to get the official OTA 2.2 is to unroot. If you want to remain rooted the closest you can come is to load one of the "stock" froyo ROMs which is essentially what loaded by following the instructions in the link you provided above.
     
  9. skilaufen

    skilaufen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    88
    Yes you can do it that way (Settings>>Privacy>>Factory data reset) and you will still be rooted. I did several hard resets on my phone that way (for an unrelated problem) and was still rooted. What you did to back up your contacts is perfect. You can also download Titanium back up and back up the apps you want before doing a reset.
     
  10. Nuance

    Nuance Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4

Share This Page

Loading...