Factory resetSupport


Last Updated:

  1. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    If I do a factory reset on my FRF91 N1, will I drop back to Eclair, or will I be on Froyo with everything set to default?

    Battery drain is killing me, I want to get this done before trying other directions.
     

    Advertisement
  2. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    17
    No youll still have froyo on your phone
     
    cigar3tte likes this.
  3. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    That :)
     
    cigar3tte likes this.
  4. Talderon

    Talderon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    247
  5. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
  6. Talderon

    Talderon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    247
    You know, one other option is to load into recovery and clear cache.

    See if that helps.
     
  7. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've just reinstalled everything and signed in apps that need signing in. What would I lose from clearing the cache?

    And if I've already done the factory reset, did the cache go with it?
     
  8. Talderon

    Talderon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,038
    Likes Received:
    247
    If you already wiped, then no need to wipe cache.

    I was just suggesting that you try wiping the cache before you try a full wipe.

    When you wipe cache, you don't lose any data, but it may clear up some bugs, especially if you installed ROM updates and whatnot.

    Every time I update or get an OTA, I clear cache to help keep it clean and fresh.
     
  9. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    And how long is your battery lasting?

    I have seen some reports that the JIT enabled in 2.2 increases battery drain but when I was running stock, I didn't really notice any difference between Eclair and Froyo. Drain was worse with Cyanogen's rom IMHO.

    So what I am saying is try to identify settings and apps that could be the source of the drain - e.g. Browser settings for plug ins (Flash!) set to On Demand.

    I am running Enomthers rom specifically as the battery life is much improved over stock and other custom roms I have tried.....may be an option for you, if interested in rooting in the future.
     
  10. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    After the factory reset I saw a post about fixing the car dock volume, so I went ahead and rooted. Using CM6RC2 atm.

    My battery life was as bad as 10% an hour. Right now I think our might be the constant switching between H and 3G. Couldn't tell it was doing this until I flashed CM.
     
  11. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Like I said, if battery life is important to you, try another ROM (you already have my recommendation), as CM does tend to eat battery a bit as it is more about performance. Also, try switching only to 3G (from 2G), when you need a fast data connection for surfing the web, downloading apps, etc.

    3G connectivity burns battery badly, and this is where you may be losing out. Download 3g/2g toggle switch from the market.
     

Share This Page

Loading...