Factory Reset?


Last Updated:

  1. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37

    Advertisement
  2. yatimameiji

    yatimameiji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    43
    Yes its the same thing.
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    H
    Use this code i posted in the secret code thread, its super easy....
    Do a Factory data restore to factory default settings, dial in:
    *#*#7780#*#* Follow the onscreen instructions. You should probably make sure you have full battery or that the phone is plugged into power before doing this, and if it freezes, I don
     
  4. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Is there a way to save my phone settings so I can do a restore when it comes back up? I don't want to have to go into the market and track down every single app all over again. Thanks!
     
  5. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    Android 2.1 should do this automatically by default. Check your Settings under Privacy and make sure Backup is checked.
     
  6. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Under Privacy I only see Use my Location and Factory data reset.
     
  7. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Speaking of, could I just tap that and it would accomplish the task of resetting the phone??
     
  8. cigar3tte

    cigar3tte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hmmm, I remember seeing that option under 2.1, but I can't verify since I'm on 2.2 now. It's also possible it was removed by Samsung.

    The last time I tried resetting from Privacy settings, it didn't let me, but it was a rooted phone. I think it should work fine for you to reset through that.
     
  9. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    That's a 2.2 option I'm almost positive. One of the few things I miss from my original Droid as many times as I reload lol..

    My phone is rooted and I could do the reset from the privacy settings. You just have to remember to enter the password twice. It's 1234 by the way, if anyone was wondering.
     
  10. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ahh.... So I won't be able to restore until I am on 2.2?
     
  11. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    For free, with auto downloading of all your installed apps? Yes, I'm about 98% positive it's a 2.2 thing.

    You could purchase titanium backup from the market tho and just backup all your apps before you reset. This would allow you to reinstall just what you want, as well as all the data associated with it.
     
  12. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Titanium Backup is free but it is only for rooted phones. I'm such a noob I'd brick my phone for sure if I rooted it.
     
  13. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41

    If you can copy something to your sdcard you can root, it's really that simple. Copy the file over, turn the phone off, turn it on while holding down the volume buttons, select the file and you're done.

    Sorry about the confussion with titanium backup, I don't use it personally, just assumed as much as it is praised it had gone pay by now lol.
     
  14. iPenguin

    iPenguin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    20
    I believe you can sync all of your apps to AppBrain (available in the Android Market) and restore your apps afterwards. Estrongs File Manager also has app backup capabilities, as does Astro. Just make sure you test before doing anything drastic in case the apps have gone wonky. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...